Poignant words to live by

010-A

We were on our way to Jaipur, India on the bus last month, when I took this photo of a beautiful palace, standing in a lake.  Sorry I don’t know its proper name.  Wish we could have toured it.

Here’s a motto for life that has been attributed to the Indian hero, Mahatma Gandhi:

“Live as if you were going to die tomorrow.”
“Learn as if you are going to live forever.”

Poignant words to live by!  Especially poignant for me, because my babysitting duties will come to an end in May of next year.  Rylan will be three years old and will enroll in preschool, hopefully the same one his sister attended.  I am sure he will adjust very well to a group environment.

Question is what will I do with my free time after babysitting ends?

This is why I enjoy reading YOUR blogs.  I love to see what you are up to, as many of you are retired like me.  You inspire me!

So, will I hike like Djan, or zumba like Kay, or draw like Christine, or go for a Master’s degree like Dianne, or make and sell ceramics like Linda, or be a volunteer like Mage…?

What do you suggest?  What turns you on?

P.S.  Jal Mahal (meaning “Water Palace”) is a palace located in the middle of the Man Sagar Lake in Jaipur city, the capital of the state of Rajasthan, India. The palace and the lake around it were renovated and enlarged in the 18th century by Maharaja Jai Singh II of Amber.[1][2]

Jal Mahal at night.

“The Jal Mahal palace has got an eye-popping makeover. Traditional boat-makers from Vrindavan have crafted the Rajput style wooden boats. A gentle splashing of oars on the clear lake waters takes you to Jal Mahal. You move past decorated hallways and chambers on the first floor to climb all the way up to the fragrant Chameli Bagh. Across the lake, you can view the Aravalli hills, dotted with temples and ancient forts, and on the other side, bustling Jaipur. The most remarkable change is in the lake itself. The drains were diverted, two million tonnes of toxic silt were dredged from the bottom, increasing its depth by over a metre, a water treatment system was developed, local vegetation and fish reintroduced, the surrounding wetlands regenerated and five nesting islands created to attract migratory birds.”  (Thanks to Wikipedia)

23 Responses to “Poignant words to live by”

  1. LInda Starr Says:

    Well I love a variety myself, cooking, traveling, art, gardening and of course clay, learning new things too, like basket making. Why not take some short workshops or courses and see if you develop a passion.

  2. DJan Says:

    That is a beautiful picture! Simply lovely, Gigi. I love being active but I also enjoy knitting and reading, pleasures that I can do even if I’m not feeling up to a hike!

  3. Suzanne Says:

    What a gorgeous photo and wonderful motto.

  4. DrumMajor Says:

    Gigi — First assignment:
    Research and find out more about that temple on the lake. Why, how did this occur? Which came first, the building or the lake? And, gosh, are those huge trees growing on it’s roof?
    DrumMajor

  5. Kay's Musings Says:

    Perhaps you can volunteer at a school. I keep saying I will but darn if I’m too busy right now.

  6. Christine Says:

    good luck Gigi, a friend just started taking piano lessons!

  7. palolo Says:

    Tell Maria to have another baby. Three grandkids would be nice.

  8. LC Says:

    What an exciting time, a new beginning filled with possibilities. My time is filled with loved ones, travel with my newly retired husband, stroke recovery therapy and home exercises, blogging and reading. i am just thankful to be alive since my 2011 stroke and able to count my many blessings.

    Loved that photo and will be catching up on your earlier posts. Whatever new endeavors you pursue, please keep blogging. Your posts and the blogosphere conversations they spark are informative, helpful and entertaining. Your experiences take me to places I may never get to visit in person; I get to savor meals I can’t eat these days; and I meet all manner of fascinating people. Keep up the good work!

  9. Arti Says:

    That picture you have posted is Jal Mahal where Jal means water and Mahal means palace!! It is now closed for public viewing but is scenic enough to watch from outside!
    And that is a great thought for the day, loved it 🙂

  10. Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife Says:

    Think about what interests you and go from there. Or try something completely new!

  11. R.Ramakrishnan Says:

    Hi Gigi. You must be wondering why I had disappeared and resurfaced again after a long hibernation. You see my latest post and you will know the reason. I glanced through your various posts and note with joy and satisfaction that you & David have had a wonderful,fascinating,enjoyable,colorful,inspiring and captivating tour of India. Your pics are beautiful and memorable. You have shopped well made incredible purchases and Kavita & Ruprekha have also showered you with some lovely gifts.
    Cheers Ram

  12. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Wonderful and wise words to live by. You will find the next step in your journey when Ryan leaves, never fear. Dianne

  13. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I love the palace in the lake. I think I saw it in the film, Jewel in the Crown on the BBC. Dianne

  14. Linda Reeder Says:

    What a lovely photo of a beautiful place.
    I can’t tell you what you might like to do, since what I do may not be to your liking. I just know that my days are very full. I stay active and busy. No daytime TV. Get up and move, do anything.

  15. NRIGirl Says:

    Beautiful Jal Mahal!

Leave a Reply

