India: Why I liked Jaipur, and David liked Agra, the most

There was a swimming pool at every hotel we stayed at in northern India, and David swam every afternoon, without fail.  This is the pool at the Sheraton Four Points Hotel in Jaipur, India.  If I remember correctly, this pool was located on the fourth floor of the hotel, just a stone’s throw from our room.

4 points wind palace water palace elephant amber ft 001-A

4 points wind palace water palace elephant amber ft 002-A

Though I liked the luxurious Crowne Plaza Hotel in New Delhi the most, I truly loved the city of Jaipur the most.  The Four Points Hotel wasn’t that great and showed its age.  But, wow, there was so much to experience in Jaipur!

For instance, the thrilling, unforgettable elephant ride!  Before going there, I wondered if we would have to climb a ladder to mount the elephant, or whether the elephant would lift us up with her trunk.  Lol.  Nothing of the kind!  We simply stepped up to a platform that was on the same level as the elephant’s back and sat down on the benchlike chair attached to the elephant.  A metal rod was placed in front of us, locking us in.  David mistakenly held onto this rod and lifted it up as the elephant jerked along.  Very dangerous, because we could have slipped off the elephant.  He was supposed to hang onto the side railings instead.

This is a photo of us, riding a female elephant:

elephant ride-A

This is a photo of the elephants behind us on our way up to Amber Fort:

4 points wind palace water palace elephant amber ft 010-A

There is another reason why I loved Jaipur.  It is a shopping mecca for people who want to buy beautiful scarves, neck ties, jewelry and carpets, not to mention many wonderful souvenirs.  I have already posted photos of what I bought.  The sheer variety and quality of goods there is incredible.

So, if I had to choose among the cities we visited (Delhi, New Delhi, Jaipur, Agra, Sarnath, and Varanasi), I would have to say I enjoyed Jaipur the most!

P.S.  On the other hand, David said he liked Agra the most because of the magnificent Taj Mahal and the beautiful hotel grounds (Jaypee Palace).

8 Responses to “India: Why I liked Jaipur, and David liked Agra, the most”

  1. Christine Says:

    wonderful memories! We stayed at a Crowne Plaza in Istanbul and it is one of the finest hotels I’ve ever stayed in!

    • gigihawaii Says:

      My sister, Sylvia, toured Turkey years ago. I would love to see Istanbul, and if I do, I’ll stay at the Crowne Plaza, because it truly is a 5 star luxurious hotel!!!

  2. DJan Says:

    Good for David for swimming every day. That sounds like my sister, she would have been doing that. I haven’t been swimming lately myself, but I know how good it feels. I do hope you will get a chance to see Istanbul, Gigi. I don’t think I’ll be getting there in this lifetime, but you just never know! 🙂

  3. kavitasaharia Says:

    You know Gigi , Jaipur is in my wish list. I have never been there. It makes me happy that you had a great time in India.

  4. Musings Says:

    Now that’s something else I’ve not ridden and it looks a lot more comfortable than the mule. I would love to see the Taj someday.

  5. NRIGirl Says:

    Awesome! I haven’t traveled much in the North except for Delhi and Agra. Now I am adding Jaipur to my bucket list.

  6. LC Says:

    Loved the elephant ride! My blogging and visiting will be non-existent to sporadic until after the New Year. I will eventually work my way back through your posts that I have missed while we were traveling. Don’t want to miss a single one!

Leave a Reply

