Wind Palace and Sunday happenings

4 points wind palace water palace elephant amber ft 005-A

Hawa Mahal (Hindi: हवा महल, translation: “Palace of Winds” or “Palace of the Breeze”), is a palace in Jaipur, India. It was built in 1799 by Maharaja Sawai Pratap Singh, and designed by Lal Chand Ustad in the form of the crown of Krishna, the Hindu god. Its unique five-storey exterior is also akin to the honeycomb of the beehive with its 953 small windows called jharokhas that are decorated with intricate latticework.[1] The original intention of the lattice was to allow royal ladies to observe everyday life in the street below without being seen, since they had to observe strict “purdah” (face cover).

Built of red and pink sandstone, the palace is situated on the main thoroughfare in the heart of Jaipur’s business centre. It forms part of the City Palace, and extends to the Zenana or women’s chambers, the chambers of the harem. It is particularly striking when viewed early in the morning, lit with the golden light of sunrise.  (Thanks to Wikipedia)

This is the palace that Arti mentioned in her comment a few posts ago.  Lovely, isn’t it?  I’ll continue to post more photos of India now and then, when appropriate.

David and I decided not to snorkel at Hanauma Bay yesterday, though we had bought brand new masks and snorkels and wanted to try them out.  The reason is that my right toe has become infected again.  I don’t know why this keeps happening.  Remember, I had surgery on it back in August and so far have taken three different antibiotics, the most recent one last month.  I have an appointment with my internist next Thursday, and I hope he can put an end to all this nonsense.

So, yesterday, we went to LensCrafters to purchase a pair of distance glasses for me.  Though I am legally allowed to drive my car without corrective lenses, I felt I needed distance glasses for driving at night.  I also wanted them for reading the super text above the stage at the opera.  LensCrafters has a 40% off sale going on right now, and they made and fitted my glasses in a jiffy (same day service).  I recommend them highly.

9 Responses to “Wind Palace and Sunday happenings”

  1. Arti Says:

    Hawa Mahal is just splendid!! I see it every year 🙂 And I hope your toe heals soon 🙂

  2. Suzanne Says:

    The building is beautiful. Good luck with your toe.

  3. Christine Says:

    Beautiful palace! Gigi you wouldn’t be diabetic by chance? Thinking about the toe.

  4. Linda Reeder Says:

    I hope you get some answers about your toe trouble. this should not be happening.

  5. Musings Says:

    I thought you were going to write something about Hawaii since it’s been incredibly windy for the last day or two. Do take care of that toe.

  6. R.Ramakrishnan Says:

    Hawa Mahal is an amazingly beautiful palace ! What is difference between Hawa & Hawaii ? The former has 953 jharokas & the latter has two eyes 🙂

  7. LC Says:

    Thanks for sharing that great photo, info and glimpse into a bit of history of another culture.

Leave a Reply

