A day to gather and break bread together

Agra, India.  These are the beautiful grounds of the hotel we stayed at, the Jaypee Palace Hotel:

Taj Mahal 031-A

Taj Mahal 032-A

I saw my internist yesterday regarding my recurring toe infections.  It was decided that I should continue to use 1% Silver Sulfadiazine Cream on the open sore and cover it with a bandaid on a daily basis, because there seems to be some improvement with that course of treatment.  Dr. L did not prescribe an oral antibiotic at this time.  I have already taken three since August, and none of them has worked as well as the cream.  I’ll see Dr. L again in January.

With that bit of encouraging news, I have been feeling optimistic and cheerful enough to clean my house in time for our Christmas party.  My sisters and their families are coming as well as my 96 year old mother and assorted friends of the family.  I decided to do something really outrageous this year.  I am going to insert a $100 bill into one of the grab bags that people will bring.  Winner take all!  Can you sense the excitement?

Christmas is next Tuesday.  Not everyone is a Christian and not everyone will be going to church.  Nevertheless, it is a day when hopefully family and friends will gather and break bread together.  It would be a shame to spend Christmas alone.

15 Responses to “A day to gather and break bread together”

  1. Christine Says:

    Your Christmas sounds like it will be great fun! I’m feeling a bit tired today myself…too much going on.

  2. R.Ramakrishnan Says:

    Lovely green lawns of the JP Palace Hotel. OMG your infections are still continuing. How sad. Good to see the Christmas spirit building up.

  3. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    A $100 bill is a very generous incentive. I’m sure everyone will be excited. Will David be eligible?

  4. NRIGirl Says:

    Merry Christmas to you and yours Gigi!

  5. palolo Says:

    Your home already looks nice and clean. You keep it top shape.

  6. Suzanne Says:

    That $100 bill is an excellent idea. Merry Christmas!

  7. DJan Says:

    What fun! I will be with my partner and we will enjoy each other’s company. I’ll video chat with other family members, too. And we will definitely be enjoying a wonderful dinner together! Glad to hear that the cream is working so well and you don’t have to take another round of antibiotics. 🙂

  8. DrumMajor Says:

    What time is the party? I know of a money-sniffing dog I could bring! Have a jolly time with everyone! DrumMajor

  9. LInda Starr Says:

    Maybe your toe infection is a fungus and not bacterial and would need a different type of antibiotic? Also lavender essential and fresh aloevera have helped heal sores both Gary and I have had.

  10. Grannymar Says:

    That sounds like a very busy day ahead for you and all the family next Tuesday. I hope it all goes well. I never heard of grab bags before. How do they work?

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Everyone buys and places a wrapped gift on the floor. People pick a number from a bowl and when their number is called, they grab a bag from the floor. The next person can either take a bag from the floor OR take someone else’s grab bag. The latter person then takes a new bag from the floor. And so it goes until everyone has played. Then the gifts are unwrapped and someone finds the money in theirs.

  11. Grannymar Says:

    Thanks for the explanation. Enjoy the day!

  12. Kay's Musings Says:

    Our “Christmas” will be on the 27th because that’s the day that most people can come. $100? Who! If everybody going to your party reads your blog, they’ll be really excited.

Leave a Reply

