Merry Christmas 2012

Christmas greetings from me in Hawaii to all of you readers out there!  I hope you had a nice time today.  I know I did.  Family and friends gathered in my home at noon for a potluck feast.  The table included lots of cooked and raw vegetables, a fruit salad, rice, potato salad, as well as kung pao chicken, shrimp ala canton, crispy gau gee, fried mundoo, and beef broccoli chow mein.  All in all, it was a well-balanced menu!

Here’s a photo of the dining table (there was a second table holding the desserts, not pictured here):

019-A

Here are photos of some of the guests:

006-A

Munni and her daughter, Kavita, are Indian friends from Fiji, who have been residing in Hawaii since the 1970s.  Munni is an English teacher.  She and Kavita are now American citizens.  Their ancestors lived in Madras, southern India.

008-A

My younger daughter, Lisa, is spending her Christmas vacation in Hawaii.

025-A

There were 17 of us.

Grab bag contest.  I tucked a $100 bill in one grab bag, and $5 in two grab bags.  So, three people got money in addition to a present.

040-A

The winner of the $100 prize:  Rylan, my grandson.

After the grab bag contest, we exchanged gifts.  I gave away souvenirs from our trip to India (silk scarves and neck ties, bracelets, tiny elephants for good luck, and Taj Mahal key chains).

Here are photos of my darling gifts from David, Maria, and Lisa:

001-A

Colorful necklace from David, which I wore today.

necklaces-maria 001-A

Pretty necklaces from Maria.

002-A

Delicious Maine blueberry jam from Lisa.

042-A

My beautiful family:  Grant, Rylan, Julia, Maria, me, Lisa, and David.

17 Responses to “Merry Christmas 2012”

  1. Ana Says:

    Beautiful beautiful family. Wishing you and your family the best!!!

  2. Kavita Saharia Says:

    Lovely family, my favorite people. Fun pictures, good to see your Indian friends too. I am busy packing right now but could not resist checking this post.

  3. Musings Says:

    You do have a very gorgeous family, Gigi. I love it that you know another Kavita. Merry Christmas! What fun that Rylan got the $100 bill!

  4. DrumMajor Says:

    Love your red muumuu, and everyone is all cheery. You must get Rylan a Monopoly game to learn even more about moolah! Merry, merry! 9 degrees at my computer window! DrumMajor

  5. Suzanne Says:

    What a beautiful family. Merry Christmas!!!!

  6. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    What a thrill for Rylan. You all look so cheerful and happy. Your necklace from David is beautiful. Dianne

  7. Christine Says:

    Wonderful family post today Gigi, brings tears to my eyes. And how great that Rylan won the $100. The food looks and sounds great.

  8. DJan Says:

    Simply a beautiful family indeed! I’m so glad you had such a wonderful Christmas with your family, Gigi. I spent a quiet day at home with my partner and it was also wonderful. 🙂

  9. Jeanie Says:

    What a great family picture. It looks like you had a wonderful day with family and friends. It is cool that Rylan was the big winner.

  10. Grannymar Says:

    That is some celebration and am pleased for you that it all went well. Great photos of the food and family. and the story of the grab bags.

  11. R.J. Says:

    The more, the merrier. It is good to have a holiday with many friends and family. We spent the day with family and children to enjoy their experiences for the day.

  12. Linda Reeder Says:

    It looks like a wonderful gathering, Gigi. I do have to ask, did you rig the grab bag? $100 to Rylan? Or was he really just the lucky one?

    • gigihawaii Says:

      He really was the lucky one. He chose the grab bag from the floor. I was amazed because the bag was the smallest one there and so boring to look at. Lol. I guess it was meant to be.

  13. Nanny Says:

    What fun…..the grab bags are a great idea…..I must remember that one.

  14. mageb Says:

    You had a great holiday too.

  15. Ruprekha Says:

    Such a lovely family. I’m so glad to know, meet and love the heads of this family.
    I can feel the warmth and joy of this Christmas party sitting thousands of miles away gigi. Thanks for sharing.
    Rylan and Maria are so cute! Your daughters are as pretty too.
    Love the colourful neck piece, David’s gift, suits you so well.
    May God’s blessings be always with this family.

Leave a Reply

