Whoa! Where did all that money go?

010-A

My grandkids play with the magnetic alphabet and numbers on my fridge.

012-A

This is Rylan, who is not quite three.

013-A

And this is Julia, who just turned five.

All of these photos were taken by David with his brand new Nikon camera.  This camera is his baby, not mine, as only he knows how to operate it.  He bought it at Costco for more than $800.  Before you whistle at that high price, let me tell you that Grant’s Canon camera cost thousands more!!!  Grant advised David to invest in high quality lenses, because a good lens takes sharp photos.  My Canon point and shoot camera takes inferior photos.  Ah, well, it’s compact and fits in my purse, and that’s why I prefer it to David’s Nikon, which is big, bulky, and heavy.

017-A

Rylan with his dad, Grant.  Photo taken with David’s Nikon.  Cool, huh?

P.S.  Follow up to yesterday’s post:  No, I did not attend Aunt B’s dinner party for 80 guests, but David, Lisa, and Maria attended.  Instead of an apple pie, David took a chocolate pie to the shindig.  Apparently, everyone had a good time!

11 Responses to “Whoa! Where did all that money go?”

  1. Grannymar Says:

    Two beautiful little children, very photogenic.

  2. DrumMajor Says:

    But David still needs the case to put the camera in for underwater and snorkeling photos! The children are growing too fast! DrumMajor

  3. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I have had several expensive and heavy cameras. I can’t tell you how many trips David and I made hauling the camera and all its attachments including a tripod all over the place. Wonderful photos true, and I loved them but one day when i was in Geneva I noticed girls carrying little cameras in their purses. I got a Canon sure shot and a Nikkon point and click and like them very much. I recently invested in another larger Cannon which my granddaughter also has (I gave it to her). I hope I use this new one. I gave the previous camera away because I never used it. I am just too lazy I guess.

    The photos you took in India are wonderful. What did you use to take them? Dianne

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I used my Canon Power Shot, the one I store in my purse. I don’t care for the outdoor shots of people, because their faces aren’t sharply defined, as they would be with a better camera.

  4. Linda Reeder Says:

    I have been using my big Nikon almost exclusively lately, but when I go for longer treks, I like to take my much smaller Canon point and shoot. It’s good to have options.

  5. Sandi Babbitt Says:

    We have almost exactly the same situation in our family. My husband (also David!) has the fancy camera he got at Costco for about the same price. It takes great pictures and I was grateful that we had it on vacation. But, I love my little “pocket camera” that I can point and shoot. True, I’ve gone through quite a few of them, but I like the ease and convenience of the smaller cameras. (Besides I still get the advantage of either my husband or one of the girls taking photos with the big camera!)

  6. tokyo5 Says:

    Your grandkids are cute!

    I stopped carrying my camera completly (even though it’s a small point-and-shoot) since I got my smartphone!
    This phone’s picture camera and video camera take better photos than the camera!
    Now I only need to carry my phone!

  7. Kay's Musings Says:

    I know the bigger SLRs are much better. However, my brother has always told me that the camera you have with you is the best camera around. Therefore, I always carry my little Canon Powershot. On trips, I carry both cameras.

Leave a Reply

