Women I admire

015-A

This is one of my favorite photos from my Christmas party.  That’s my sister in law Pat (seated), my elder daughter Maria, and my 5 year old granddaughter Julia.  Don’t they look sweet?  Pat is a semi-retired hospital pharmacist, and Maria is a tenured high school math teacher and department head.  And then, there is little Julia.  What does her future hold?  Will she be as successful and happy as her mom and aunt?  Hope so!

Remember Aunt B’s dinner party for 80 people?  Well, David came home and regaled me for hours about the various conversations he had with the people there.  It was so interesting, I wish I’d been there.  Everyone asked him where I was.  The 80 guests consisted of my aunts, uncles, siblings and cousins.  Nothing to fear, really, as there were only 10 dining tables of 8 people each.  With assigned seating, it was very manageable!

One guest, sitting at David’s table, was a close family friend, who had once been the chairman of the Hawaii Democratic Party.  He told David that he favored Colleen Hanabusa to replace Senator Dan Inouye.  He also predicted that Hillary Clinton would run for the Presidency in 2016.  David replied that it would be exciting to see Hillary and Condoleeza Rice run against each other.  Of course, we now know that Hillary has health issues and may not be a viable candidate.  I hope she recovers from her concussion and blood clot.

Pat, Maria, Hillary, and Condoleeza:  What do they have in common?  They are all highly successful women!  People to admire, indeed!

11 Responses to “Women I admire”

  1. R.Ramakrishnan Says:

    Captivating picture of three admirable ladies of different generations !

  2. Suzanne Says:

    Three beautiful women. I am reading a book about Queen Elizabeth now. I love to learn about successful women.

  3. DJan Says:

    It is a lovely picture. When I think of how far women have come in just my own lifetime, it amazes me. To think that a hundred years ago, we didn’t even have the right to vote!

  4. Jeanie Says:

    What a beautiful picture of those special females in your life. Julia has some wonderful examples to follow.

  5. DrumMajor Says:

    Lovely ladies! Be sure and go to Aunt B’s next function!
    DrumMajor

  6. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Little Julia is a doll.

    David worked in Hillary’s campaign in 2008. Don’t know if the blood clot issue (her second) will slow her down, but the Benghazi fiasco will come back to haunt her if she runs for office, just like Chappaquidic haunted Ted Kennedy until he died.

    I like Hanabusa too.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I think Brian Schatz has a better chance of racking up seniority as senator from Hawaii. He is only 40, whereas Hanabusa is already 60 or older. But, I agree with you about Benghazi, a blemish on Hillary’s otherwise great resume.

  7. Denise Says:

    What a wonderful picture Gigi, great role models indeed.

  8. Ana Says:

    Beautiful Gigi. Happy new year!

  9. Linda Reeder Says:

    Not only are these women successful, but they are all working in fields that make our world a better place. That I admire.
    Hillary and Condoleeza will not run for the presidency. They have said as much, and hoping they might is just wishful thinking.

  10. Grannymar Says:

    Great photo of the three generations. I hope you are filling a memory box for the grandchildren to share.

Leave a Reply

