Co-existing in a most wonderful way…

hanauma bay 023-A

Hanauma Bay.  The water was clear, cool and refreshing.  Notice that there was almost no surf.  The conditions were ideal for snorkeling.

You all should visit Hanauma Bay to see the colorful fish, but, of course, if you don’t know how to swim, then please stay out of the water.  I am so glad that my 5 year old granddaughter, Julia, has been taking swimming lessons.  She can swim quite well now.  Kudos to her parents for enrolling her in the class.  It’s just a matter of time before Rylan joins his sister. Then, we all will be a family of swimmers.

David’s orthopedist advised him to avoid walking needlessly, because it would aggravate the pain and arthritis in his knees and hips.  He encouraged my husband to swim at the gym, instead, and that’s what David has been doing.

My own internist told me to swim instead of jog, because it is less stressful on my joints, heart, and bowels.  I am almost embarrassed to admit that jogging was a laxative for me, and I often ended up relieving myself in the bushes.  Yeah, right, TMI.  Lol.  What’s next, Gigi?

Snorkeling is the most relaxing exercise I know.  While doing the breast stroke and kicking gently in the water, I always feel one with the fish, co-existing in a most wonderful way.  Where the fish go, I follow.  You should try it sometime!  Learn how to swim and then snorkel at Hanauma Bay.  It’s a great way to relieve stress.

8 Responses to “Co-existing in a most wonderful way…”

  1. ramakrishnan Says:

    Did you two finally go for snorkeling ?

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Yes, of course, we have snorkeled many times. We last snorkeled on December 2, after we returned from India. We will try to snorkel again in January. It’s fun!

  2. DrumMajor Says:

    Hooray for kids swimming!
    Will put Hanauma Bay on my list for the next visit. I worry about doing the wrong thing with the snorkel gear and gulping in water! During a snorkel at Molokini I just dove deep, then came back up. Bits of walking are good for the intestines. No need to jog it out!
    DrumMajor

  3. Suzanne Says:

    Yeah for Julia learning to swim. I feel better when kids learn to swim. That way if the end up in water by mistake, they can get out.
    I need to snorkel soon too. Last time I tried it was in waves and I got tossed around a bit.

  4. Denise Says:

    I remember Hanauma Bay from our last trip to Hawaii but the line was so long to get on the beach we gave it a miss. Hopefully we’ll et another chance to visit one day, I have only heard the most beautiful things about it.

  5. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I just let my gym membership expire. I used the pool several times a week and it was nice until it bothered my skin. Sea water is so much better for you. Dianne

  6. Beatrice Says:

    Wish I could do this, too! You can be so lucky!
    My skin also needs some salt water…..I am always covered in thick layers of clothes and it has not seen any sun since many months.
    This is no good. Our indoor pools here are no alternative…
    °°° > ° °°°
    Beatrice

  7. Grannymar Says:

    I wish I could go swimming but my body goes dangerously cold, even in a heated swimming pool, so I keep out of the water.

Leave a Reply

