Is it because we have a mixed marriage?

001-A

002-A

New Year’s Eve.  Our neighbor held up a fishing rod, while a string of firecrackers hung from it and exploded.  Notice the debris of red firecracker paper, which neighbors scooped up and discarded in trash bins before dawn.

David thinks it’s because of the requirement to purchase permits, but whatever the reason, not many fireworks were lit this past New Year’s Eve.  Great!  The newspapers reported there were 73% fewer fires and even fewer injuries due to fireworks, so we in Hawaii can all rejoice.  I hope the downward trend continues.

Since we are not one for New Year’s traditions, we did not celebrate the New Year with a family party or traditional food and customs.  Maybe, it’s because David is Caucasian and I am Asian, and we have a mixed marriage.  Or maybe, it’s because we are just too lazy.

At any rate, throw out New Year’s resolutions, too, because neither of us made any.  Who cares if we need to lose weight?  We don’t care.  So, losing weight is definitely not on any list of ours.  In fact, there is no list.  Lol.

How about you?  Do you always follow New Year’s traditions and customs?  Have you made the usual resolutions?  If not, join the club!

9 Responses to “Is it because we have a mixed marriage?”

  1. DrumMajor Says:

    Fishing with firecrackers is unique! All the noise and smoke is what youngsters like to hear. Not celebrating is more about being over 40 I think than ethnicity. Except for the guys who own the companies that produced the big commercial displays. We were supposed to eat black eyed peas for good luck. I hate them, so I let my luck fall where it may. Losing weight is on my list, so I have the energy to visit again! DrumMajor

  2. Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife Says:

    The Hub and I have never really celebrated NY. We do stay up to see it in together, but we watch a movie and eat snacks. It was nice to do that with the boys when they were younger.

  3. Jeanie Says:

    I am not much of a resolution maker though I like hearing other peoples resolutions. Our new years eve celebrating was a dinner that was over by 9:30 and we were in bed before midnight.

  4. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    When I was younger, I attended New Year’s Eve parties, and even stayed up to watch the ball descend on Times Square. Now we go to bed as if it is a normal day.

    Regarding fireworks, one thing I remember about Hawaii… nutty fireworks displays. We drove home after New Year’s Eve parties to find the street covered with an inch of red paper and the air smelling like a war zone. Glad that custom has gone away.

    I always treat the New Year as a new beginning. Never too late to change. Dianne

  5. mageb Says:

    Happy new year to you.

  6. Denise Says:

    I am joining the club, no new year’s resolutions here. Not big on fireworks either, when I was younger maybe but not now. Before I moved to the States the only Fireworks night was on the 5th of November, Guy Fawkes Night.

  7. Linda Reeder Says:

    I’m a member of the club! We do usually go out to a movie on New Years Eve and stay up until midnight, at home, and watch the Space Needle fireworks on TV. No parties. We have never done anything special on New Years Day. It’s most often a day to take down Christmas decorations and start putting the house back in order.

  8. Grannymar Says:

    Over the years I have gone to some friend or other for supper and to count down to the end of the old and beginning of the new, but driving home alone afterwards and coming into an empty house took the gloss off it. Nowadays I am usually asleep by the time the new year arrives.

  9. Musings Says:

    Yes, the fireworks were a little less, but they were the louder type that tempted me to report it.

Leave a Reply

