India: Colorful market in Jaipur

Here are photos that David took of a colorful market in Jaipur, India.  He used my Canon PowerShot camera, while I stayed behind on the tour bus.  Yes, we did this a few times, when I wanted to recover from the grueling schedule of non-stop activities.   My husband was my eyes and ears back then.

colorful market elephant ride 001-A

colorful market elephant ride 004-A

Cows are considered sacred in India.  Beef is not eaten there.

colorful market elephant ride 005-A

Notice how beautifully dressed the women were.  I found that even in the slums, the women always managed to dress in gorgeous saris.  The men?  They weren’t as well dressed.

colorful market elephant ride 007-A

colorful market elephant ride 002-A

colorful market elephant ride 008-A

India is a colorful country.  Nothing bland or boring about it.  A feast for the eyes!

P.S. In his comment, Ramakrishnan said:  “Hindus do not eat beef, but most Muslims in India do eat it.”  Thanks for the correction, Ram!

9 Responses to “India: Colorful market in Jaipur”

  1. ramakrishnan Says:

    Lovely pics of the crowded bazaar. Hindus do not eat beef but most Muslims in India do eat. I use a Canon Powershot too. It’s my constant companion where ever I go 🙂

  2. Suzanne Says:

    Great images! That is a healthy looking cow.

  3. Kay's Musingsusings Says:

    I’m glad David was able to get out there and enjoy the country despite his painful knees.

  4. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Yes, I was thinking about the Muslims. They eat Halal I know but think pork is not on their diet at all. Dianne

  5. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    Regarding staying on the bus—when I was on my trip to India in 1973, we pulled up in front of one more temple. One guy said, “No thanks. I’m all templed out,” and he stayed on the bus.

    I would point out that you will look in vain for a Hindu in Pakistan. However, 20% of India is Muslim. This tolerance is one reason I am pro-India and anti-Pakistan. I will never understand why Pakistan is considered an ally of America when they act like our enemy,

  6. DJan Says:

    Very colorful pictures indeed, Gigi. I love the pretty sari-clad women, and oh the flowers! 🙂

  7. mageb Says:

    The women are like flowers.

  8. Ana Says:

    What a wonderful place to visit!

  9. travelerreport Says:

    In India, muslims don’t eat beef but buffalo and goat. They don’t eat beef because they know cow is holy for hindus. So, they don’t eat beef to “stay at peace” with the hindus. Well, may be very few muslims eat beef indeed but doing this is very risky. Indians are high on emotions and muslims who do it could be beaten by nationalist hindus if they know it.

Leave a Reply

