A career in comedy

indian turban 001-A

Rylan wears the turban I bought in Jaipur, India last November.

My grandson, who is almost three, has been making me laugh with his imitations of his parents.  Of course, I don’t really know if they can be attributed to Maria and Grant, but I am willing to take his word.  He is so funny, I tell you.  However, if I keep laughing, he’ll keep repeating it ad infinitum.  The only way to make him stop is to stop laughing.  Oh, he’s so cute, I just want to hug him.

I hesitated to write about this, because it’s very difficult to translate the sounds he makes into English.  But, let me try.

One day, he began to sing a meaningless song:

“Pangu, pangu, oot, oot.  Pangu, pangu, oot, oot.”

I said, “Who taught you that song, Ry?”

“My mommy,” he replied.

“Really?  What does it mean?”

“It’s about pangu, that’s all.”

Today, he came up to me and said, “Daddy said, ‘Bttthhhhbbpppp.”

Rylan blew air through his closed lips to make that funny, rubbery sound.  See, I told you it is hard to translate into English!  I had to laugh every time he repeated it.

Rylan is such a character.  Maybe, he’ll have a career in comedy some day!

P.S.  Maria (Rylan’s mother) says:  “Pingu, Pingu, oot oot” is from a show he watches on Netflix. It’s sort of like the “theme song” but not really a song before the show starts. Pingu is a claymation penguin.

12 Responses to “A career in comedy”

  1. R.Ramakrishnan Says:

    Nice colorful turban. Rylan looks like darling little Prince Charming !

  2. Maria Says:

    “Pingu, Pingu, oot oot” is from a show he watches on netflix. its sort of like the “theme song” but not really a song before the show starts. Pingu is a claymation penguin.

  3. Christine Says:

    I had to smile at that cute photo! This is the cutest age!

  4. DrumMajor Says:

    Well Grandma Gigi — teach him songs that you know, and see if he’ll sing them for his parents. DrumMajor

  5. Jeanie Says:

    You are very lucky to have such good entertainment. He looks very cute in the turban.

  6. Suzanne Says:

    Wonderful to have such great entertainment around. He is just so cute.

  7. L...w Says:

    Your translation was perfect…I enjoyed your story….conversations with children are the best and the ones we hope to remember for a long time.

  8. mageb Says:

    He’s a charmer, grandma. And a wonderful happy Birthday. You looked lovely, and what a nice place to have dinner.

    Yes, few kids blog these days. Most just text or twitter. Even Facebook seems to be too much of an effort.

  9. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    OMG what will kids learn next. Dianne

  10. Linda Reeder Says:

    How wonderful that you are having such fun with your grandson.

  11. Grannymar Says:

    You are so fortunate to have a young grandson to play with. Enjoy every minute.

  12. Musings Says:

    Well, I for one KNOW what pangu means since I’ve heard my son-in-law laugh about it too many times.

Leave a Reply

