No stress

hanauma bay 025-A

Another bird at Hanauma Bay.

I hope you all are happy and healthy and that there is no stress in your lives.  Who needs stress, right?

Today is a brand new day, and I am happy to report that my lab scores are very good.  My cholesterol is 183, my glucose is 91, and my hemoglobin A1C is 5.2.  This means I don’t have heart disease, and I am not diabetic or pre-diabetic.  Yay!

Tonight, David and I are going to dine at my sister Sylvia’s vegan restaurant, Greens and Vines, in Honolulu. My husband will take pictures, and I’ll be sure to post them here tomorrow morning.  We are looking forward to great tasting food. Many people have mentioned how much they enjoy the freshness of the ingredients.  I want to try the “vegan lasagna” and the herbal teas as well.

We have been mulling over our plans to travel to Washington, DC this summer.  At first, we considered early August.  However, I learned from Google that hurricane season starts on June 1 and ends on November 30, and that mid-September is considered the apex of the season.  Ouch!  We’ll see what happens.  Everything is up in the air right now, and our trip depends on a number of things, which I won’t get into.

Anyway, what we all should remember is:  Don’t fight with anyone.  If we can do this on a personal level, think what this would mean on a global level.  PEACE.

10 Responses to “No stress”

  1. R.Ramakrishnan Says:

    Lovely picture of the pigeon strutting on the sand. Have a great dinner at Greens & Vines. Good to note that you are healthy & fit and this in itself calls for a toast. Cheers.

  2. DrumMajor Says:

    Hooray for Health! Congrats! Be sure and walk or march-in-place frequently for those flights to D.C. Hope you can stay longer than a week for the effort of the flights.
    DrumMajor

  3. Christine Says:

    I know that some stress is good but I still don’t like it! Great news on your good health scores!

  4. Suzanne Says:

    Yeah on your good health. Your sister’s restaurant sounds so good.

    Good luck on your travel plans. I don’t recall a hurricane in August for the east, but there is always a first time. From a kiters perspective, it is considered the least windy month for kiting.

  5. L...w Says:

    wow…you are blessed with some great healthy genes. Your children and grandchildren will inherit some of that good fortune too.

    L…w

  6. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    Regarding yesterday’s post of Rylan as a comedian, Hawaii has a lively tradition of good comedy going back to Booga Booga days. It seems to me that “pangu, pangu, oot, oot” fits into that tradition quite well. (For the benefit of people from outside of Hawaii, Booga Booga in the early 70s was a comedy troupe that presented hilarious skits about local ways and mores, such things as wearing your best slippers to a formal occasion or using humorous Pidgin English phrases, stuff li’dat. Many very talented comedians sprang from that group: Rap Reiplinger, James Grant Benton, Andy Bumatai).

    Regarding Greens and Vines, I have now eaten there three times. I and my guests all felt it was a very good experience. I’ve tried a different entree each time, and I started with the lasagna, which was tasty. Much to my surprise, coffee is acceptable in the vegan regimen. I used almond milk instead of cream and it was all very good. Each time my stomach did a little rumbling, nothing serious, afterwards. Someone said it’s because of all the fresh vegetables and that you get used to it. The vegan philosophy is all new to me. Frankly, it seems a bit extreme, but it’s a happy experience. Someone else said I looked like I had lost weight. If people go back as regulars, the menu may have to be expanded somewhat.

  7. DJan Says:

    I got my numbers in preparation for my doctor’s appointment on Tuesday. They are really good, too, but I take a statin. I was also pleased to see my triglycerides are very good! 🙂

  8. Grannymar Says:

    A clean bill of health is the best Birthday present ever! Enjoy Greens and Vines.

  9. Musings Says:

    We’ve also got some trips planned, but so much depends on mom’s health. Your blood test is fabulous! It’s much better than mine, that’s for sure.

  10. mageb Says:

    It looks wonderful. Someday….

    Yes, I am taking care of both of us. 🙂

Leave a Reply

