East coast, here we come!

Scenic Hawaii 009-A

Hawaiian scene.

David submitted his vacation request to his boss, and it was approved.  We intend to stay in Washington, DC for a few nights and then fly to Miami sometime in early August.  (Why Miami?  Why not?)  The reason why I am not more specific is that we still have to book our flights.  After we do that, I’ll inform my blog friends as to when we will meet for lunch or dinner (my treat).  We are looking forward to meeting you!  David reads your comments on my blog, so he is familiar with your names.

Meanwhile, my youngest sister, Lucille, offered to pick us up at the airport, but I politely declined.  The last time we made that arrangement, we got lost at the airport and waited for 20 minutes for her to show up.  When she didn’t, we walked around and finally found her in a different parking lot.  You can imagine how stressed out David and I were.  Hence, we intend to take the taxi to our hotel near the capitol.  Less hassle that way.  I just hope we don’t get lost again!

Does anyone know of a nice, elegant restaurant (in DC or in Miami) where we can meet for lunch or dinner?

David and I will not be renting a car.  We intend to take the taxi, trolley or bus, instead.  As for the metro?  Maybe!  This will be a fun trip, guaranteed!

20 Responses to “East coast, here we come!”

  1. R.Ramakrishnan Says:

    Congratulations ! Have a great vacation & lots of fun. We were in Washington in 2006 & used the Metro as well as the hop in – hop off buses. It was a marvelous tour.

  2. denise Says:

    That’s exciting Gigi! I really look forward to meeting you and David. I hope someone can help with a restaurant suggestion. We so rarely eat in the city.

  3. NRIGirl Says:

    When I read East Coast I had hoped it was New Jersey / New York. Any plans to come this way in the near future Gigi? I would love to meet you and David.

    DC is best during Cherry Blossom. Not sure if you are planning around that time or earlier. Let me know anyways, I will see if I can drive in.

  4. Christine Says:

    wow good for you Gigi! I was briefly in Washington over 30 years ago! Have you seen the White House before?

  5. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    ask Mage where she and G stayed in DC. They were near the Metro and found various places to eat. As for me and David, we don’t eat out very often and when we do we eat at small places and support family owned businesses. For example, at Christmas we ate at a Thai restaurant in Arlington. (My SIL knows the owners)

    August is absolutely the worst month to visit Washington or Miami. Terrible heat most years. David and I stick pretty close to AC during August. Dianne

    • gigihawaii Says:

      We don’t intend to stay outdoors very much, except for the Mall. Most places are air conditioned. We probably will tour the area in the early morning and early evening. I especially would like to ride down the Potomac, that would be fun.

  6. Jeanie Says:

    I love having a trip planned to look forward to. You will find plenty to see in DC for the days you are there, but it will be hot that time of year. I think you are smart not to rent a car.
    I just booked a trip for a wedding in Kauai on June 1.

  7. Grannymar Says:

    That sounds very exciting. Enjoy the planning and the actual visit when the time comes.

  8. DrumMajor Says:

    Gigi — you may want to catch AAA for their leads on the different trolley/tours around D.C. I didn’t care for the metro because there was still blocks of walking to and from the spots we visited. The taxi was lovely, and not too expensive, considering the traffic is spazy in DC. The trolly was just for a tour, not a bonafide travel method. But the evening/night trolley tour was great, and out of the sun. My niece went on a day trip on the Potomac to see the sights from a distance.

    Miami is a lot like Honolulu, but it will be hotter in August. May want to consider visiting a spot north or south of Miami to avoid big city crowds. There are tour buses that travel to Key West and back in one day, which is a bit like western Maui with folks chasing the setting sun.

    Have fun! DrumMajor

  9. LC Says:

    Sounds like you have planned well for the broiling temps. Looking forward to hearing more as you plan and then as you experience the fulfillment of those plans. Travel is an experience that you can enjoy before, during and for many years after.

  10. Cathy Says:

    Hello Gigi
    They often say ‘absence makes the heart grow fonder’ but I subscribe to the theory that it is ‘travel that makes it grow fonder’ We see new places, get to know them and then once we are home we pine to see them again lol
    I love the planning stages of a holiday – wondering what to do and how to go about it. I’m sure you will enjoy your trip – don’t be surprised if you want to return when you are home again in that lovely place where you live.
    Hawaii – been there several times, enjoyed every minute and am always looking for ways and means to come back again.
    Take care
    Cathy

  11. DrumMajor Says:

    Hey Gigi, have you been to Disney World and EPCOT Center? I LOVED EPCOT center because I could walk just about 2 blocks and be in a different country. The rides, exhibits, restaurants and shops are all staffed with folks from the respective countries. It was like traveling the world without the passports, traveling and vaccinations! One’s never too old to have fun! DrumMajor

  12. nanny2011 Says:

    How fun!! I love planning a vacation….it’s just one of the best parts to me.

  13. L...w Says:

    Sounds like a great trip in the making. Like others said, planning is so fun and exciting. And booking. Packing and the few weeks before is definitely not.

  14. mageb Says:

    We just spent 11 days in DC and loved the museums. We loved eating at the Old Ebbit Grill…it’s right near the White house. Write your congressman now for tickets to the White House and the Capitol. It takes months to get them approved.

    http://www.ebbitt.com/main/home.cfm?Section=Main&Category=Find_Us

    For breakfasts there are coffee shops, and for lunch there are Museum cafe’s.

Leave a Reply

