Recliner vs. Ottoman?

sofa 001-A

In 2009, we purchased this reclining sofa.  As you can see, there is an ottoman on the side where I sit.  The reason for it is that the mechanism to make the recliner pop out broke twice. Since we had a five year warranty, we had it fixed for free.  But, after it was fixed the last time, I bought the ottoman to keep from breaking it a third time.  I have no complaints about this ottoman.

Well, a few weeks ago, David’s reclining mechanism also broke.  He experimented with my ottoman and decided that it was too high for his feet.  He preferred something lower.  Hence, he used the warranty and had it fixed yesterday.

sofa 002-A

This is how his recliner looks.  Notice that it is lower than the ottoman.

Since we were told that we would no longer be allowed to use the warranty again for the same problem, I was stunned when David said he would be willing to hire someone to fix the reclining mechanism if it broke again.  I told him that it would be very expensive.  He doesn’t care, and he said he definitely does not want to buy another ottoman.

See how we spend money?  Very foolishly!

11 Responses to “Recliner vs. Ottoman?”

  1. Arti Says:

    The sofa looks very comfortable indeed!! I would love to have that in my house 🙂
    Have a lovely week Gigi 🙂

  2. DrumMajor Says:

    Gosh Gigi, Too bad that brand’s mechanism breaks so much. With David’s knees and long legs, it is very important that he have the correct footstool. Resting his (or anyone’s) feet too high, without support behind the knee, makes a leg be a spanning “bridge” and causes even non-arthritic knees to have pain.
    I’d squawk at the recliner company about their bad mechanism, and ask for a better total replacement, or to honor their warranty.
    Otherwise, cut the legs on the current ottoman. Wouldn’t be foolish spending vs. medical care for more painful knees.
    Or, a furniture repair guy or reupholstery guy might be able to replace the mechanism with a better one.
    Good Luck, DrumMajor

  3. Christine Says:

    the trouble with moveable parts is they always break unfortunately!

  4. Suzanne Says:

    It looks beautiful with lovely ferns in the background. I am cheap but after I hurt my neck about 2 years ago, I have become picky about how I sit and on what. The injury was costly in a variety of ways. You should see me on a plane ride with my blowup pool balloon, pillows, etc.

  5. DJan Says:

    I agree that having one’s feet at the right angle is very important. I have a reclining chair but it’s cheap, and if (when) it breaks, I just go out and buy another one. That entire sofa looks WAY expensive to me! 🙂

  6. L...w Says:

    Seems like the warranty people are saying due to improper use, the part has failed? That’s not acceptable, at least to me. Warranties are so expensive to purchase you’d think they would not make a fuss at all.

  7. Linda Reeder Says:

    We have matching recliner chairs. Tom likes to lay back in his. Mine is always upright, but we both want to have our feet up. Our chairs are also swivel rockers. We’ve never had any trouble with the mechanisms, but the rockers have developed a squeak we can’t seem to fix.
    Having a comfortable place to sit that fits you is very important as we age.

  8. ramakrishnan Says:

    Obviously David loves his recliner & is passionate about it and hence ready to spend more money on it. How can this be a waste of money ?
    And Gigi the Ottoman looks quite slender & weak. Are you sure it won’t collapse suddenly one day ?

  9. Grannymar Says:

    That sofa looks very comfortable.

  10. LInda Starr Says:

    I’m short, that ottoman would too high for me too.

  11. spinning bike Says:

    Can I simply say what a comfort to discover
    someone who really knows what they are talking about on the internet.
    You definitely realize how to bring an issue to light and make it important.
    More and more people should check this out and understand this side of your
    story. I can’t believe you are not more popular because you certainly possess the gift.

Leave a Reply

