The ability to cheer people up

scenic hawaii 001-A

Hawaii.

Yesterday, Rylan refused to take a nap after lunch, because he believed his mother was coming soon to take him home.  This was not true, because she would be appearing in 4-1/2 hours.  No amount of coaxing helped, because he was determined to stay awake.  I was amazed by his energy, despite his saying that he was “a little sleepy, but not that sleepy.”

Finally, I asked him if he wanted to play a game.  Instead, he said, “Let’s talk, Grandma.”

After talking a while, he said, “Actually, Grandma, you have to activate it.”

Me (amazed): “What does ACTIVATE mean?”

Rylan:  “It means to start something.”

Wow, I thought, this kid is not yet three, but he already knows what ACTIVATE means.

When I am feeling depressed, the automatic cure is to think of my grandson.  I wish I could surround myself with people who are just like him.  He has a wonderful sense of humor and always manages to make me smile, if not laugh.

I hope he doesn’t lose that ability to cheer people up when he is an adult.

9 Responses to “The ability to cheer people up”

  1. Christine Says:

    You are lucky to be near your grandson and be able to spend such quality time with him!

  2. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    New Rylan-influenced words for an old song:
    “You’ve got to ACTIVATE the positive,
    eLIMinate the NEGative”

  3. denise Says:

    What a little darling Rylan is. I think a great pick-me-up for anyone would be the thought of their grandchildren. Such a blessing.

    Gigi, you asked a while back if we could suggest any elegant restaurants in Washington. I was reading an article on where President and Mrs. Obama dined and here is a list.

    The Blue Duck Tavern
    Ristorante Tosca
    Acadiana
    Oyamel
    American 1789 – he took Germany’s Andrea Merkel to this one

    You should find them easily on Google but I can send you the website addresses if you have any problems.

  4. Linda Reeder Says:

    I love it!

  5. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    If your weather is a little grey like ours you have to find ways to “activate” a smile. Good luck. Dianne

  6. Jeanie Says:

    Your story about Dylan “activated” a smile on my face.

  7. Ana Says:

    Gigi how adorable!! Please let me know a few days before you get to Miami 🙂

  8. Maria Says:

    he ended up falling asleep in the van on the way home.
    And he learned the word “Activtate” from a Sesame Street video he watches on the iPad. =)

  9. Grannymar Says:

    You are so fortunate to have a grandson for a playmate. It allows the child in you to play.

Leave a Reply

