Adding Indian puppets to my wall of art

This is my wall of eclectic art.  Last night, David hung up the puppets I bought in Jaipur, India last November.  Aren’t they cute – and so inexpensive!  They cost only $1.00 each!

india puppets 001-A

The beautiful art in the center was given to me by my Indian friend, Kavita.  Thank you, dear friend!  I shall remember you every time I see it.

india puppets 002-A

Close up of the puppets’ faces.

india puppets 003-A

india puppets 004-A

In case you are wondering, the print at the top of the wall was created by an artist in Hawaii, named Elly Tepper.  The people are flying kites.  Very colorful!  The photos at the bottom show my family as well as shots of David and me in India and the Big Island of Hawaii.

Oh, I love beautiful art!  Don’t you?

23 Responses to “Adding Indian puppets to my wall of art”

  1. Christine Says:

    I have lots of art around my house too, just whatever I like, if the price is reasonable, I will get it. Your artwall is beautiful and meaningful to you.

  2. NRIGirl Says:

    Lovely! I love them too!

  3. NRIGirl Says:

    Gigi! I noticed that the walls are made of brick/blocks; is that how houses are constructed in Hawaii?! That’s very similar to India.

    Here in NJ as you know the basement alone is concrete and the house itself is made of wood with sheet rock covering the interior walls.

    Interesting…

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Houses in Hawaii are made of either concrete blocks or wood. Mine is made of both. My beams are made of redwood, which is resistent to termites. Over all, I am pleased with my home.

  4. Denise Says:

    Wonderful collection of art Gigi, the puppets are lovely!

  5. Brit Gal Sarah Says:

    You made a really neat display and a lovely reminder of your travels too. I love the colors in the painting.

  6. DJan Says:

    Very pretty puppets. I love the closeup so I can see their expressions. And you do have a very lovely collection of art! 🙂

  7. Linda Reeder Says:

    I enjoy the art that we have collected from our travels. It has special meaning, especially if we are able to buy directly from the artisan who crafted it.

  8. L...w Says:

    I love handmade crafts…just thinking about the hours and all the human labor invested in a craft object makes me smile. It doesn’t matter what it is or whether it is aesthetic. That’s what handmade represents to me and why I think it is so much more valuable than anything machine made. If I had my way (all the time in the world), I would want to make everything I consume and possess with my own hands.

  9. DrumMajor Says:

    Wow Gigi — Those are amazing puppets. I bet Rylan will be given permission to use them at a school show and tell when he’s older. I only spent $5 on a coconut tree leaf hat woven in front of me by the artist on the north shore of Kauai. It turned from green to tan and has a plumeria ring aound it.
    DrumMajor

  10. R.Ramakrishnan Says:

    Lovely,lively & colorful puppets. Look charming & splendid in your drawing room.

  11. Mage Bailey Says:

    Yes, your eclectic wall is charming. Yes, too, you are going to love meeting folks in DC and Miami. I did answer all your questions. Yes, those menus were PDF’s, and if you didn’t have the right program, you couldn’t open them. 🙂

  12. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Mad about Art. Probably why I took so many Art History classes and wish I had artistic talent. Dianne

  13. laurie Says:

    the art is beautiful, I love the colors and the action in it, the other peice is beautiful as well, very elegant.I have been catching up with your past posts, the meal you had at Rueby Tuesday looks very good!Best wishes from Canada

  14. kavita saharia Says:

    Wow. wow!! Your wall looks vibrant! I love puppets , we call them ‘kathputli’ in Hindi. The thought of you thinking of me everytime you look at that painting makes me very happy:)

  15. LC Says:

    What a lovely way to preserve memories of your trip and of people at home and abroad who hold a special place in your heart.

  16. Judy Clark Says:

    Can’t believe you got those gorgeous dolls for $1.00. What a buy.

    The painting is so cute.

    Judy

  17. Suzanne Says:

    That is a beautiful wall/space. I love the colors in the painting.

  18. Musings Says:

    Oh yes! Very nice! I love collecting a few art objects when we travel too. Those puppets are beautiful.

  19. Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife Says:

    I love the top painting. So bright and cheerful.

  20. Arti Says:

    These are the same puppets which hang in my Hall 🙂 They do look lovely, dont they! I love them too. And what a beautiful gift by our common friend Kavita 🙂
    Have a lovely day Gigi 🙂

  21. Grannymar Says:

    Very colourful display.

  22. Bella Rose Says:

    I love the puppets.

Leave a Reply

