Cheers and Aloha from Hawaii!

mums, hawaii scenes 003-A

Hawaii.

Well, if you haven’t noticed, I have been rather lackadaisical about posting daily on a consistent basis.  Sometimes, two days go by without a new post.  Sorry!  I have reached the point where if there is nothing interesting to discuss, I’ll simply leave the day blank.  Makes sense, right?

Anyway, during a recent break in my computer hogging, David calculated our State and Federal income taxes.  We are so glad that our refund from the State will cover what we owe the Feds.  Hurray!  Naturally, as an accountant, David found the tax software, TurboTax, very easy to use.  My older daughter, Maria, who is a high school math teacher, also likes TurboTax and she figures out the taxes for herself and Grant, who has several side businesses besides his career.

As for me, I am a dunce when it comes to math, so we won’t even suggest that I do the family taxes.  Of course not!  Just today, I realized how much of the multiplication table I had forgotten since the second grade.  My goodness, what equals 11 times 11? Duh!

Philosophical Note:  If you are having a difficult time forgetting your miserable past, please focus on the future.  Ask yourself what you want to do tomorrow or next week or later this year.  In our case, it is our trip to the east coast in August.  Planning fun things is like dangling a carrot in front of a donkey’s eyes.  He keeps going and going, anticipating that carrot he wants to eat.  Same here!

Wherever you are, I hope you have a wonderful weekend!  Cheers and Aloha from Hawaii!

7 Responses to “Cheers and Aloha from Hawaii!”

  1. Christine Says:

    I noticed you haven’t been posting as much! I love Turbotax.

  2. Musings Says:

    I’ve been wondering myself how long I can keep posting daily.

  3. Linda Reeder Says:

    I think I went four or five days this week before I could come up with something to post about.
    I do our taxes, and I now use the free version of TurboTax offered by our credit union.

  4. L from W Says:

    I get a little fuzzy doing math in my head too…but between husband and I, I’m still the better bills and tax paper person. Ever since we got married I have been doing our taxes. I use Tax Cut software. I don’t read the instructions anymore….really bad that I have gotten so lazy thanks to software that I don’t read the tax publications at all. Pre-computer days, I would order hard copy publications from the IRS, read it cover to cover and fill the tax forms line by line with a calculator. If I had a question I would call the IRS help line. Often they were awesome and helped me line by line on some of the schedules.

  5. Jeanie Says:

    I admire both people who post every day and people who do their own taxes……I don’t do either one of those things.

  6. LC Says:

    Ditto, Janie. I have rarely achieved more than a couple posts a week. But since My blog is to help me remember the days of my retirement, there is always something to write about. And if there is not, visiting favorite blogs starts ideas sparking.

    My problem is that I become so far behind on things I want to record, that I just throw up my hands and give up posting for awhile. Okay, the hand reference was figurative. I am not to that point yet but the left arm and shoulder are showing improvement in tiny increments since my stroke. And Gigi, your philosophical note is on target. Focusing on future fun and today’s joys large and small works for me.

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Well, I am pretty good at math but David does the taxes. He suggested I might want to do them this year using our TurboTax update software, but I told him I have enough stuff on my computer as it is.

    As for posting more often, don’t worry, I too have run out of steam. I try to post when I have something to share. have a good day. Dianne

Leave a Reply

