Last day babysitting

Here’s an old photo of my grandkids at the hospital where Rylan was born.  Julia was then only 2 years old, and Rylan was only a day old.

Julia and Rylan-2-17-10-A

Isn’t this an adorable picture?  How time flies!

Today marks my last day of babysitting my grandson, Rylan.  I reached this decision, because I have been having difficulty toilet training him.  After much consideration, David and I agreed that it would be best for our carpet (especially the expensive silk rug) to let Rylan go to his other sitter full time, starting February 1st.  I’ll miss seeing him on a daily basis, but we plan to keep in touch.  In fact, David and I intend to visit with him on his birthday next month and give him our present in person.

I have been browsing at Amazon, trying to find suitable gifts.  How does this grab you?  A kaleidoscope for Rylan and a pair of binoculars for my granddaughter, Julia.  Rylan will turn 3 in a few weeks, and Julia is now 5.

Here’s a photo of my family at last year’s Christmas party:

042-A

Grant, Rylan, Julia, Maria, me, Lisa, and David.

I guess our next family photo will be taken next summer, when Lisa returns home during semester break.  Maybe, Rylan and Julia will be tall enough to stand, instead of being carried by their parents.  We’ll see.  Stay tuned!

19 Responses to “Last day babysitting”

  1. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I have read that boys are more difficult to train than girls. I had one girl and two boys (now ages 51-47) and cannot remember. Dianne

    PS I have potty trained my parrot Arabella.

  2. Christine Says:

    Lovely tribute to your family today, that is a sweet photo! Time flies, Lisa’s program seems to be going fast, as did your time babysitting Rylan. I was thinking today how I couldn’t wait for my kids to turn 6 and 3 respectively, thinking it would get easier for me! Now I’ve learned life just goes in stages, a natural progression with no stage being ‘easier’!

  3. DrumMajor Says:

    Gigi — that is an adorable photo when Rylan was tiny. All the households and sitters have to be on the same page for the pattern and plan for toilet training. Remember the Tinkle Targets, if Rylan’s Mom says okay. Then again, some grown men need Tinkle Targets.
    DrumMajor

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I guess I’ll babysit Rylan again when he turns 6, because I don’t want any accidents here. Lol. As for Tinkle Targets, I’ll give them to Maria and she can decide whether to use them or not.

  4. Cathy Says:

    Hello gigi
    When I see more and more grandparents walking around the shops with their grandchildren in tow I often wonder how they cope with the ‘training’ aspect of babysitting. It certainly would be troubling for some as our generation doesn’t always have the same thoughts as the children’s parents also as in your case the same furnishings. You will miss him but will be able to love him more when we you do see him.
    I think you wil be pleasantly suprised at how quickly those little ones have grown when you have the next family photo taken.

    Thanks for dropping in to Still Waters and for your comment. The tidying and rearranging continues lol

    Take care
    Cathy

    • gigihawaii Says:

      My greatest regret is not having a wooden or tiled floor throughout the house, but David’s left foot is flat and he wants carpet to cushion his feet when he walks and stands on the floor to prevent pain. Ah, well, that’s life as we know it. Lol.

  5. Linda Reeder Says:

    I guess I don’y understand how these accident s are going to happen. Wouldn’t you use pull ups during active toilet training? And Rylan is still young. Many boys don’t toilet train successfully until they are well into their threes.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      His older sister continued to have accidents periodically while wearing cloth underwear at preschool and at home. That’s the kind of accidents I am referring to.

  6. L...w Says:

    You are going to really, really miss your grandson and I’m sure your little grandson will miss you too. But I think possibly there’s more to this story than just soiled carpets… as you said you feel frustrated that you can’t help toilet train him. There are three households that have to coordinate toilet training and I guess by bowing out you are helping make toilet training less confusing for poor Rylan. Anyway, that’s the first thought that came to mind. I was thinking back to my motherhood days when I asked both grandparents to babysit. My very wise aunt told my mother that it will be confusing for our daughter to have three households to adjust and I think she was right. Sometimes our gut knows what is best, carpets is just an excuse!

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I’ll miss our conversations most of all. Definitely not the toilet training. Meanwhile, I have rejoined American Pen Women and will start attending monthly meetings. I might also attend a friend’s club luncheon, as well. I look forward to getting out of the house and being with friends. But, truly, it was the thought of living in a house that reeked of urine like China Town that prompted David and me to end my babysitting. Otherwise, I would have been willing to wait until May 24, when his parents would go on summer break and he would attend preschool in August.

  7. Musings Says:

    In my granddaughter’s case, I toilet trained her while her parents went on a cruise. We got her trained in a week. However, it was a week of concentrated training. I’m so glad that’s over with. And I’m so glad they don’t have expensive carpeting. It’s mostly hardwood floors. 🙂

  8. Musings Says:

    Love that photo, by the way. Too too sweet!

  9. Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife Says:

    How sad you must be feeling. I know you have loved caring for Rylan.

  10. palolo Says:

    Didn’t Rylan wear pull-ups? How can urine leak on your beautiful carpets? Boys usually have a hard time going for #2 on the potty.

  11. Grannymar Says:

    I am sure you will miss Rylan.

  12. Denise Says:

    Adorable photo with the grandkids and a lovely family photo too.

  13. DJan Says:

    I guess I missed this post somehow. I can understand it’s difficult for little ones to figure out toilet training when there are so many different approaches. Little boys are usually much harder to train than little girls, it seems. 🙂

Leave a Reply

