How do you pay your bills?

Fish 003-B

Hawaii.

I have been having trouble with the Internet ever since a fire damaged cables on Nimitz Highway in January.  I don’t know if the fire is the reason for intermittent service, but I am very annoyed.  David spent close to an hour speaking to a technician at Time Warner on the mainland, but still could not speed up the computer.  A local Oceanic technician will be here on Thursday.  He will check the wires outside the house and also the modem inside.

The United States Postal Service has announced that there will be no delivery of letters, bills, and catalogs on SATURDAYS.  They made this decision in order to save billions of dollars.

I am considering paying most, if not all, of my bills online instead of mailing checks as I normally do.  Of course, there are pros and cons, especially now since my Internet service is so slow or intermittent.  But, with the postal service cutting back on mail delivery and raising the price of postage stamps, it seems faster and cheaper to pay online.

What do you think?  How do you pay your bills?  Are you satisfied with your method?

24 Responses to “How do you pay your bills?”

  1. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I have everything I can online…automatic payments. Also, all my income is electronic. I live in a wired or is that weird world? Dianne

  2. DJan Says:

    All my payments are online and most are paid through my bank, which sends me a notice when one has appeared. I am extremely fond of it, making it possible for me to write fewer than 10-15 checks in an entire year! 🙂

  3. Suzanne Says:

    I do automatic online. I think it is great.

  4. Denise Says:

    We’re slowly making the change over to paying bills online. We do a couple now but are looking into a complete turn to online bill paying.

  5. Christine Says:

    I pay all my bills online Gigi. It’s very convenient. We never have mail delivery on Saturdays!

  6. DrumMajor Says:

    Gigi — I’ve never been rich enough to pay bills online, meaning I want to control exactly when money is sucked out of my account, and I may want to wait until a later date. (Utilities are frequently changing the due date within a month.) I pay my other bills 10 to 20 days in advance by mail. I have some monthly bills that come out of my checking account on the same date each month, but not via online. I also don’t want to have a bill automatically paid until I’ve seen it,. Sometimes I have to argue with my AT&T phone/cell/wall/internet package, which has sometimes snuck (?) in fees and charges I didn’t approve.

    I don’t trust the computer (or me) not to mess up. I hear stories many times about access and assurance. Stamps and my post office are doing just fine.

    DrumMajor

  7. Grannymar Says:

    Don’t know how this works in US, but in UK it is possible to pay regular bills by direct debit – so much a month or in one go to clear bills.

  8. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    Whenever a mistake occurs when paying on-line, I find that straightening out the situation is rather cumbersome.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      That’s the risk you have to take. However, my paper check got shredded in the mail so I had to send another check and pay a finance charge because it was late. Not fair, but that’s business.

  9. Ana Says:

    I have not written a check in years… I pay ALL my bills online. And if I have to send a check somewhere, i do it online and my bank sends it in.

  10. L...w Says:

    I’ve been paying bills online for at least 10 years…I cannot go back to stamps and mail. I know husband could never carry on should something happen to me, so I still request paper statements. He wants me to close our mainland bank accounts and only have Hawaii ones, but the interest rates locally are too low.

    Sorry to hear you are still being seen for your toe infection. Hope you feel better.

  11. Linda Reeder Says:

    Almost all of my bills are paid through auto pay either through my credit union or my Master Card. I use the Master card when I can so that I can get the points. I do pay my two credit card bills by check, because I want to look over the statements before I pay.

  12. DrumMajor Says:

    I can get my credit card statement at any time via computer, and I have them email me when they get my paper check payment, and I send them so far ahead, that I feel comfy with that arrangement. I worry about identity theft more with the internet than paper.
    DrumMajor

  13. L...w Says:

    I wanted to add that by reading online financial forums, I was able to trust online banking. Otherwise I might not have tried it by myself. It was assuring (and fun and profitable) to have the help and advice of many other online users. Down to which bank gave the best rates and how to apply, etc. Which credit cards gave the best perks and how to tweak using the card.

    • L...w Says:

      Sounds extreme…but by tweaking I mean since each credit card offers a different use advantage, with online billpaying to keep 4-5 credit cards that I use ongoing current, I am able to use specific credit cards for grocery, gas, restaurants, travel, etc. to maximize points. Plus the myriad of 5% special categories quarterly. Using online for finance and shopping has been such a boon for our pocketbooks.

  14. Arti Says:

    The electricity bill amount is automatically debited from the bank account as we have opted for the ECS scheme. For house maintenance we drop a check in a drop box in our society.
    Currently we do not pay any bills online. Have a wonderful week ahead Gigi 🙂

  15. Jeanie Says:

    I do some online, but still write a couple of checks a month. At a consumer fraud seminar I learned that online is much safer than checks and that security improvement measures these days are directed toward online security rather than improving the security of paper checks.

  16. LC Says:

    Online preferred.

Leave a Reply

