Who knows!

Fish 006-B

Hawaiian underwater scene.

Today, I was all set to attend a club luncheon at Assaggio’s Italian Restaurant in Kahala when I started having colitis symptoms again and had to cancel.  So sad!  I will start medication on Monday and will make an appointment with my gastroenterologist, who is presently in Hong Kong until March 1.  Colitis is a terrible condition to have, because it virtually keeps one housebound.  No social engagements whatsoever.  I wouldn’t wish this on anyone!  You’re lucky if you don’t have it.  Dr. H says no one knows what causes colitis.  There are theories, but no proof.

My infected toes are looking better, though they are not completely healed.  Per doctor’s instructions, I have been soaking my feet in warm, salty water and applying an antibiotic afterwards.

Lisa is thrilled that David was able to e-file her tax returns today.  She will be receiving hefty tax refunds in a few weeks.

I always seem to eat better when David is around.  When he is not around, I tend to eat junk food, like chocolate cake for supper.   Tonight, I’ll make both of us a ribeye steak dinner with broccoli and potato salad.  Yeah, we do eat red meat once a week, usually on Saturday nights.

Tomorrow night?  Who knows!  Salmon?  Chicken?  Eggs?  Beans?  Pork?  What’s on YOUR menu?

19 Responses to “Who knows!”

  1. Christine Says:

    I’m going to try this pancit bihon Filipino noodle dish the Melgie posted http://pinayexplorer21.blogspot.ca/2013/02/pancit-bihon-recipe.html at least I think I will soon. But I do hope you start feeling better soon Gigi.

  2. Linda Reeder Says:

    After spending the day with the grand kids, I was worn out and so we grabbed a yummy burger at Red Robin before going to a movie.

  3. R.J. Says:

    I read that we are what we eat, and I keep telling myself to avoid all that tasty stuff that makes me feel bad, but it’s not easy. So many people I know have switched to gluten-free diets. I try to follow it, especially the rice part, but it is hard to go completely gluten-free. My G.I. doctors put me on a lactaid pill before each meal and six Metamucil caplets once a day. I read an article recently about the effects of aging on our digestive systems. We seem to develop food intolerances as we age according to that author. Wishing you luck with the quest to better health. It has been a struggle for many of us for most of our lives.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I have had colitis since Maria was born 34 years ago. So, it’s probably not due to old age. And it sometimes goes into remission, so it’s not diet, either. This has my doctor stumped.

  4. Jeanie Says:

    Probably soup tonight ’cause it is cold and a little snowy here. I am meeting my son and his family for lunch at Red Robin, so like Linda above I might have a burger…..or maybe I’ll just stick to a salad. 😦

  5. DJan Says:

    I hope you get better soon, Gigi. I know how much you like to dine out. And good news on your infected toes!

  6. ramakrishnan Says:

    Pity you has to skip a fabulous lunch. Yes colitis can be very painful.

  7. Suzanne Says:

    I have learned Costco has the best salmon. I am hooked now. Hope you feel better.

  8. L...w Says:

    Thought your pains were all gone…sorry to hear.

  9. Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife Says:

    Your dinner sounds nice!

    Feel better soon.

  10. Musings Says:

    OH no… I’m so sorry. I’ve heard how bad colitis can be. Ummmm…. yes, chocolate cake alone for dinner would not be a good thing.

  11. Grannymar Says:

    The steak dinner sounds tasty.

  12. Melgie Says:

    Hi, you got a nice blog and I love your photo. Thank you for visiting my blog.:) See you around

Leave a Reply

