Happy Birthday, Rylan!

I couldn’t attend my grandson’s third birthday party today (for health reasons), but David was there.  Due to rainy and windy weather, the outdoor party was moved to a relative’s garage.

Here are some photos that David took:

016-A

Julia tries to pin the nose on Elmo.  Rylan refused to be blindfolded, so he didn’t play.

047-A

Rylan enjoys his lunch.  Note his Elmo shirt.

038-A

Rylan blows out the candles on the Elmo cupcakes.

Rylan and his 5 year old sister, Julia.  We gave Rylan a kaleidoscope, and Julia a pair of binoculars (because we missed her birthday last year while we were vacationing in India).  They seemed to like their gifts.

060-A

058-A

055-A

063-A

I am so sorry I missed this party, because I truly love my grandson, whom I babysat for 2-1/2 years from the age of 5 months to almost 3 years.  It’s amazing how time flies, isn’t it.  In 20 years, Rylan will be 23.  Gee, in 20 years, I’ll be 87 if that’s possible.  One never knows what lies ahead, does one.  We can only hope for a favorable outcome for us all!

God bless you, my dear, sweet grandson!  Happy Birthday!

13 Responses to “Happy Birthday, Rylan!”

  1. Christine Says:

    Happy Birthday Rylan, so sorry you couldn’t make it Gigi. What a great idea to give them both gifts.

  2. L...w Says:

    Your daughter and son in law are busy working parents yet find the time to celebrate their children’s birthdays. Kudos to them and Happy Birthday Rylan!! Sorry that you are not feeling well. Lately I’ve been feeling very depressed.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      David just saw your comment and said, “Welcome to the club. I feel depressed, too.” (He’s not happy with his salary at work.)

      • L...w Says:

        It’s terrible to feel unappreciated (as well as underappreciated) . Anger can make you feel so depressed.
        Too bad it always happens to the best of humankind.

        I think that’s how our capitalist system works. The shark eats the barracuda, and on and on. Those using the power of cheap capital (courtesy of Bernanke) will find ways to replace the burdensome cost of labor (and funny how the Feds are targeting unemployment for their easing, like the dog chasing its tail lol). Especially with the current slack in labor demand, there must be many workers in David’s situation. Technology (again aided by cheap capital) is hastening the pace with which automation replaces human labor. Furthermore, we can’t go more into debt (public and private) to offset the deflationary effects of technology. I think we’ve reached our limits.

  3. Kay's Musings Says:

    Happy Birthday, Rylan! I love the cupcake cake idea!

  4. Linda Reeder Says:

    Your grandchildren are so beautiful!
    I find myself now thinking in terms of how old my grandchildren will be in ten years, in twenty years, and how I want to stick around long enough to see them grow up and become young adults. And still have the capacity to enjoy them.

  5. Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife Says:

    Happy birthday, Rylan!

  6. Jeanie Says:

    What a fun party for Rylan. I’m sorry you had to miss it….I know you were looking forward to going. I hope you feel better quickly.

  7. DJan Says:

    Sorry you had to miss his birthday party, Gigi. I’m sure he missed you too. Nice pictures that David took, though. Thanks, David! 🙂

  8. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    What lies ahead is a mystery. Probably just as well. Nice photos of your darling grandchildren. Dianne

  9. Grannymar Says:

    Happy birthday young man. The photos make the party look like great fun.

Leave a Reply

