I feel sorry for the tourists…

Scenic Hawaii 004-A

Hawaiian beach scene.  Notice the mountains nearby.  Hawaii certainly is not flat and boring!

It’s been so windy lately!  The wind has been so strong, it has blown the rain right through our house almost horizontally. Naturally, this means we can’t spend the day snorkeling at Hanauma Bay.  I feel so sorry for the tourists, because there is nothing worse than sitting on the beach while wind-driven sand stings your face and body.

Good news:  David’s boss told him that the general manager has resigned and has become a consultant instead.  Whoa!  Does this mean David’s old salary will be restored, since there now is more money available?  We are holding our breath.

It was wonderful that President Obama played golf with Tiger Woods in Florida on Sunday.  He even took lessons on his golf swing from Tiger’s ex-coach.  How I would love to do that!  David and I each have a bag of golf clubs and have practiced our drives and putting at a nearby country club, but we have not proceeded beyond the beginner’s level.  I don’t know if we ever will, because there are just too many distractions right now.

Distractions such as blogs, food, and travels…

9 Responses to “I feel sorry for the tourists…”

  1. Arti Says:

    Its pretty frustrating when you go somewhere as a tourist and are hit by bad weather. And those are good things to be distracted by – blogs, travel and food!!!
    Have a lovely day Gigi 🙂

  2. DJan Says:

    I just read that Kay and her family walked (and ran) the Aloha run in spite of the wind. She said it was at her back, fortunately! 🙂

  3. Christine Says:

    golf would be great exercise!

    The general manager will be making a lot more money as a contractor, let’s hope they don’t rehire him as a contractor there!

  4. Beatrice Says:

    Windy nasty gray weather here, too!
    Winter is not departing yet….
    it is boring by now and I’m fed up with it!
    To give it some colour I bought tulips in veeeeery dark purple.
    I still have an old bouquet tulips in white with purple stripes
    (see my blog: bea-nype.blogspot.com)
    Beatrice ☀

  5. Suzanne Says:

    It has been super windy over here too. 50 mph yesterday. Shew!

  6. L...w Says:

    I hope the best for you and David. The salary cut he sustained was not small trimming around the edges but a deep blunt cut. Seems like the company likes to make cost cutting decisions all the time.

    I think it is the sign of the times. Started with the great recession in 2009 and will probably not get better for a long time where companies survive by being more productive on less. I am preparing myself for retirement and economic depression which means I’m tightening the belt even more this year.

  7. Linda Reeder Says:

    I have never tried golf. Give me a wide open green space and I would rather take a walk!
    I’m glad the President had a good get-away weekend.

  8. Kay's Musings Says:

    We do have a friend who told us they came to Hawaii in the winter and it rained the entire week. It does happen. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for David.

  9. Grannymar Says:

    Have yo moved to Ireland? We have plenty of experienced eating sand sandwiches when at the beach. Maybe the marks on my skin are not freckles, they might be rust marks!

Leave a Reply

