Go, Donovan, Go!!!

Scenic Hawaii 005-A

Beautiful Hawaii.

I just got off the phone with Aunty Marilyn, whom I love with all my heart.  She always manages to uplift my spirits, and much of our conversation today was punctuated with laughter.

We spoke about her grandson, Donovan, and how he stole the show at Aunty Bobbie’s dinner party.  This preschooler is so talented as a speaker, singer and dancer.  It was just amazing how comfortable he was on stage, facing 80 people at the party, most of them adults.

I told Marilyn that Donovan might very well end up as a lawyer, specializing in litigation.  Imagine him during closing arguments, convincing the jury to decide in his client’s favor, perhaps in a personal injury or medical malpractice case.  I think he would be very persuasive in an emotionally charged courtroom.

I once worked for an attorney, whose undergraduate degree was in Drama.  He presently is a very successful trial lawyer in Hawaii.  It just goes to show that one need not major in Political Science to do well as a litigator.

More than anything, I wish I had Donovan’s self-confidence.  Stage fright is not part of his vocabulary! Go, Donovan, Go!!!

7 Responses to “Go, Donovan, Go!!!”

  1. DJan Says:

    How sweet! I think all children who are loved and admired have a leg up in the world. Donovan certainly sounds like a winner! 🙂

  2. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Half the adult population in my county(Arlington vA) has a law degree. Most work for a political figure or a lobbiest downtown. All are type A personalities. As a statistician-demograper in the private sector and in government, my job was to provide statistics to various lawyers to help them present their cases. At one point, I was even called to testify myself before Congress.

    You might say this area is overcharged with lawyers. Hopefully, if Donovan becomes a lawyer he will stick to cases that don’t cause hyper-stress him. Dianne

  3. Christine Says:

    I really believe people’s personalities are set from an early age and that Donovan won’t change.

    Oh Gigi about that heart quiz, I didn’t know my cholesterol levels then it just asks you if your doc said you had average levels, I answered yes and was able to continue. It’s a good test.

  4. Grannymar Says:

    some folk are born actors. The law court is actually a stage, so a love of amateur drama is a great bonus.

Leave a Reply

