Training David’s eyes

Scenic Hawaii 006-A

Hawaiian beach scene.

As you know, David recently purchased a top of the line Sony digital camera, because I hated the way my Canon PowerShot camera lacked clarity when people’s faces were photographed from a distance.  The Sony cost $700, expensive to us, but it is worth every penny.

The problem is not the clarity of the camera, but it’s David’s eyes.  He sometimes doesn’t compose his shots.  The angle of the shot, the contents of the photo, the lighting – all of these things I find myself complaining about.  For instance, he forgot to turn the flash on, so most of the photos he took of Julia are too dark to post on my blog.  Grrr.

I told David to train his eyes to see balance in the contents of the photo.  I like my subjects to be in the center of the screen and not lopsided or askew.  He said he is still learning, and practice makes perfect.

Well, if this is all I have to complain about, I am darn lucky.  After all, my husband is not an alcoholic, drug addict, gambler, or womanizer.  Thank goodness!

Yes, I do count my blessings!  Lol.

8 Responses to “Training David’s eyes”

  1. Musings Says:

    I haven’t had too much trouble with the Powershot clarity in sunlight. It’s done pretty well actually. I had to learn to be careful of the settings I was using. It’s a good thing I have Dennis and Dave giving me expert advice.

  2. Denise Says:

    It’s good to count one’s blessings 🙂 I try to do that each and every day. That’s a great picture! I know what you mean about settings and clarity. One thing I noticed recently at how wonderful the colors are on my smart phone camera. They are a lot more vibrant than on our other more expensive cameras. I need to learn more about settings I guess.

  3. Mage Bailey Says:

    Could he have cataracts? Get him Photoshop…maybe that will help.

  4. DJan Says:

    I am always fixing my pictures after I take them. I seem to list 2 degrees to the right, so I straighten almost every one, and then I crop them to look just right. Maybe David could learn to do that, too! 🙂

  5. Christine Says:

    yes you are lucky Gigi! We take what we have for granted sometimes!

  6. L...w Says:

    I don’t own a camera because I can’t take good pictures. I don’t seem able to pay attention to visual cues so heads are cut off and I don’t notice background or lighting. Very discouraging and I don’t think I could learn.

    L…w

  7. Linda Reeder Says:

    I do what DJan does, and I can also adjust the light exposure, all just with my Windows photo storage.
    Maybe it’s time for you to take the photos. You seem to know what the rules are. It is all about the light, and the framing.

  8. Suzanne Says:

    I thank my lucky stars every day. A poor choice in spouse can have a huge impact on the quality of someone’s life.

Leave a Reply

