Do you exercise?

Scenic Hawaii 007-A

Diamond Head, an extinct volcano on the island of Oahu.

So much of my entertainment is focused on food, and this shows up on my blog.  I cook and bake on an almost daily basis.  I throw dinner parties for family and friends.  I enjoy dining at new restaurants.  I have even rejoined my writers club, which meets every month at a restaurant.

Meanwhile, I don’t exercise in a meaningful way.  There are Zumba classes offered at the rec center down the street from my house, but David told me not to join because Zumba would be too strenuous for me.  I would love to walk with my husband every evening, but his orthopedist told him not to walk unnecessarily.  In fact, the doc advised him not to kick too hard while swimming, because David has severe arthritis in his knees.

I always enjoy DJan’s blog, because she shows interesting photos of her hikes in the Pacific Northwest, where she resides.  In addition to those Thursday hikes, she walks around the lake twice on Saturdays and also works out at the gym.  All of this exercise she does with a group of senior citizens.  I might add that DJan is 70 years old and sky dives when the weather is good.  And here I am, age 67 and all too sedentary for my own good.

The strangest thing is that my bone density test scores are excellent.  In fact, a doctor told me I have the bones of a 27 year old woman and I really don’t need to take a retest at this time, because my previous scores at age 60 were so good.

I am very lucky that I don’t have osteoporosis or arthritis and have never suffered any joint pain.  This is amazing, because I am so obese.

David and I are waiting impatiently for the rain to let up and the sunshine to return so we can snorkel at Hanauma Bay again.  It’s our favorite spot to exercise and see the beautiful fish!  Care to join us?

11 Responses to “Do you exercise?”

  1. NRIGirl Says:

    Would love to join you folks Gigi! If only I could…

    Have a great weekend. Wishing you plenty of sunshine!

  2. DJan Says:

    Bone density problems are usually issues with small, light-boned people because they are not carrying around any significant weight. When one is overweight, all the extra weight carried with every step works to help one gain bone density. Osteoporosis also runs in families. I”m so glad you don’t have to worry about it, Gigi!

  3. Christine Says:

    I exercise at the gym 4 times a week and go for walks in the summer. It’s a good thing! Lucky you with the great bone density. I love food too as you know! the heart test reminded me to watch my salt intake and the fried foods.

  4. Jeanie Says:

    That is great that your bone density is good. I am having the test next week. I walk the dog once or twice a day and either go to the rec center or use the treadmill or exercise bike in the basement most every day. Having time for that is one of the things I appreciate most about no longer working full time.

  5. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I have seen DJAN around the blogosphere. Will check her out, but don’t expect to exercise to increase. Walking the dogs, some house cleaning, and caring for parrots is all i can manage and read as much as I want to. As for cooking and dinner parties…What’s that?? Dianne

  6. L...w Says:

    I have not checked my bone density yet, maybe in a few years, but recently the dentist noted that my teeth are surprisingly not sensitive, in fact off the charts not sensitive. He mumbled some numbers and I topped them all. So I hope teeth and bone have some connection lol

    I don’t exercise as often now. If my back is not tired that day, I hop on the exercise bike for 30 minutes. I’m told not to use the treadmill since it would be too strenuous for my back.

    L…w

  7. Suzanne Says:

    I hope I have good bones. I worry. It is not in my genetics to have good ones.

  8. Linda Reeder Says:

    Exercise is a basic requirement in my life, for weight management and just to be able to keep moving and lead the life I want to live.

  9. DrumMajor Says:

    Would love to join you snorkeling, but you must teach me first. I’m spooked I’ll inhale the water in the P-trap. I just took deep breaths and dives when at Molokini.
    Needed a snorkel today, to dig out of 17 inches of snow. I made a trench for my mailman, but a wonderful hired guy did the rest. DrumMajor

  10. The Laughing Housewife Says:

    Are you sure you are obese? You don’t look it.

  11. Grannymar Says:

    Walking and housework are my means of exercise, it seems to work for me. I bring the camera with me and watch out for photo opportunities to blog about.

Leave a Reply

