An uplifting experience

Scenic Hawaii 009-A

Oahu beach scene.

Weeks ago, I received a phone call from a woman named Sarah.  She said she had looked up David’s number in the phone book and assumed that it was mine, too.  She wanted to tell me how much she enjoyed my first book and wanted to know whether I had other books she could buy.  I told her to go to any public library in Hawaii and borrow the other two books.  She replied she was disabled and could not get to a library.  So, I said that if she sent me $5.00 for postage, I would mail the books to her without further charge.

A few days later, I received the money with a note that her mother knew my grandmother, because they both had attended the Korean Methodist Church in Honolulu.

Two weeks after I sent her the books, I got another note from Sarah.  She wrote that she recognized the Woo sisters in a photo in the second book and that she and my second cousins had grown up as neighbors on Kauai before moving to Oahu.

My goodness!  I can’t believe that this stranger knows so many of my relatives.  What a small world this is!  I am so glad that my books resonated with her and stirred long forgotten memories in her.

I wrote my three memoirs, because two of my aunts begged me to write a “book of memories” after they read one of my columns in the local newspaper.  So far, everyone likes the first book the best.  In fact, Sarah mentioned that the reason she liked it was that “it isn’t serious like so many books are.”  I guess she liked the humor.

Writing about happy family memories was indeed therapeutic for me in more ways than one.  Focusing on the positive, rather than the negative, was an uplifting experience. However, I don’t plan to write any more books.  I now devote my time to blogging, my favorite hobby.

13 Responses to “An uplifting experience”

  1. Grannymar Says:

    This gives me food for thought!

  2. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    We live in a small world after all. Dianne

  3. LInda Starr Says:

    What are the titles to your book; I’d like to look them up. It really is a small world after all.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Linda, you can find a description of my books in ABOUT (click on the button at the top right hand corner of the main screen). If you are interested, I’ll give you a free copy of the first book when I see you in Miami.

  4. Christine Says:

    I didn’t know you were a published author Gigi, wow!

  5. Suzanne Says:

    That is a small world. Congrats on completing a book. That is hard work.

  6. Linda Reeder Says:

    With that big family of yours still populating those small islands, is it any wonder that lots of other people know them? This new connection is very cool, though.

  7. DJan Says:

    That’s wonderful, Gigi. And to find that your books are still being read and appreciated is a nice thing for anyone to discover! 🙂

  8. The Laughing Housewife Says:

    What a lovely surprise for you! It really is a small world.

  9. L...w Says:

    Congrats!! Reading your blog is a treat everyday.

  10. DrumMajor Says:

    Awww, come on Gigi, don’t be shy: Go ahead and list the titles of your 3 books. They are very interesting with your viewpoint as a youngster in the daily life of a family working hard. Are you low on copies? Congrats for helping and finding another far flung relative, who is not so far away!
    DrumMajor

  11. Cathy Says:

    Hello gigi
    Just popped in to thank you for your kind thoughts after my recent surgery – I’m staying away from ‘blogland’ and resting the eye so won’t be posting again till next week.
    Thinking about books made me wonder if you would consider using the subject matter as the basis of some posts for Gigi-Hawaii?
    Take care
    Cathy

  12. Kay's Musings Says:

    Hawaii is definitely a small world. How wonderful that someone was able to find such joy in your books, Gigi!

Leave a Reply

