The whole world smiles with you

Scenic Hawaii 012-A

Canoe scene off Waikiki Beach.

I look at this photo, and I feel so happy that I live in beautiful Hawaii.  It’s been windy and raining all week with no end in sight, but that doesn’t mean I hate Hawaii.  Far from it.  I simply close the windows and don a fleece-lined jacket, as I usually do when the temperature is in the 60s and 70s.  Yes, I consider that cold.  Lucky I live in Hawaii.

Yesterday, I decided to stop cooking the same old thing day after day, week after week, and started perusing a different cookbook.  It contains a bunch of recipes that Aunty Marge wrote for me back in the 1980s.  She used index cards and stuck each recipe in the plastic sleeves of a small photo album.  I always enjoyed her dinner parties and am so grateful for this recipe book.  Last night, I made a tuna casserole, and tonight I intend to make chicken cacciatore.  Perhaps, you have your own way of preparing these dishes, but Aunty Marge’s recipes are to die for.  Yum, yum.

You can choose to be happy or you can choose to be unhappy.  Which will it be?  I love to think about the past and dwell on the good times being married to David, raising two kids, traveling around the world (literally), and meeting so many nice people everywhere.  Even now, as I write this post, I find myself smiling.

Smile and the whole world smiles with you…

12 Responses to “The whole world smiles with you”

  1. Cathy Says:

    A very true saying – yet there are some days when it can be hard to make the right choice.

  2. Christine Says:

    You do have the best life Gigi! Nice upbeat post!

  3. DJan Says:

    It is definitely a beautiful place to live. If it weren’t for the rain, this place would be ideal, too, but then everybody would want to live here. Hope your rain slows down soon, Gigi! 🙂

  4. Christine Says:

    Gigi I’m still in awe that you are a published author with books in the library! You sometimes talk about it but the details are modestly hidden in your ‘about’ section. Some people have their accomplishments right out there on the sidebar for all to see!

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Yeah, I know that. However, this particular theme format doesn’t allow me to list my book titles in a sidebar. Sometimes, I wish I could change the theme format, but I am scared that I might accidentally delete the entire blog. Lol.

  5. Suzanne Says:

    Hoping you get relief. Our north side caught a break yesterday.

  6. Linda Reeder Says:

    A happy Gigi makes everyone smile.

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Good advice. I am hoping the cooking fairly will inspire me soon. I need to replenish the containers of soup in the freezer.

    As for new recipes, I have found a few in previous weeks, in ‘Diabetic Living’ mag and other places. All seem to involve yellow butternut squash.

    Thanks for your comment today. My son (works for the Navy) called last evening and he is having conniptions over the coming sequester. I suggested he take a long walk and destress. Thank goodness I am retired, but I worry about him. Dianne

  8. Denise Says:

    What a treasured memento from your aunt, priceless! Great advice Gigi.

  9. L...w Says:

    I’ve been thinking a lot about my past these days too.

    L…w

  10. LC Says:

    Gigi, thanks for your observations on my “fast-from-complaining” post. And in this post you have articulated beautifully what i want to practice. When I entertain complaining thoughts and speak complaining words, I miss the happy things, past and present. Your posts and the comments from your readers interest me and encourage me.

Leave a Reply

