Her energy astounds me!

Scenic Hawaii 013-A

Beautiful Hawaii.

I have a friend who puts me to shame.  Sue picks up her twin grandkids from preschool every day and bathes them.  She then prepares dinner for her daughter and son in law.  When they return home from work, she goes to her home to prepare supper for herself and her husband.  In her spare time, she works in two gardens:  hers and her daughter’s.

Sue is an immigrant from a Southeast Asian country and has a degree from a local university.  Her husband and three children are all medical doctors.  Her husband intends to retire at the end of the year, and one of their children will take over his practice.  Sue expects her husband to work in the two gardens and help with the grandkids.

A third grandchild will be born this summer, so there will be even more work involved.  But, you won’t hear Sue complaining.  She truly enjoys her lifestyle.

How does this grab you?  Would you be willing to do all of this, too?  I am not sure I would.  Her energy surpasses mine, that’s for sure!

10 Responses to “Her energy astounds me!”

  1. Christine Says:

    I say Sue’s kids are lucky to have that service.

  2. DJan Says:

    It’s amazing what you can accomplish when you’re having fun doing it. I am reading Paul Farmer’s life right now and his energy amazes me! (The book is Mountains Beyond Mountains by Tracy Kidder) 🙂

  3. Jeanie Says:

    I am always amazed at grandparents who do full time child care. It does take a lot of energy. I babysit my grandkids a lot but don’t think I would want to do it full time, though I just committed to keeping a 2 year old and a 5 year old for a week in late summer or fall.

  4. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    When my SIL died, my daughter’s girls were 1,3,6, and 7 years of age. I took the kids most weekends to give her a break. We frequently helped out with trips to the doctor and other medical, plus store visits, etc. We also attended piano and ballet recitals and graduations, and made special trips with them, such as the time we took the two older girls to NYC for a fun weekend.

    I was working fulltime myself when the girls were younger, and I could never have done what Sue does.

    I don’t regret any of the time I spent with my granddaughters, and they have grown into fine adults, but adults need to do things for themselves too.

    We set up education investment plans for each girl, which has gone a way toward helping them pay for undergraduate degrees. I could never have done this if I hadn’t been working.

    David and I have a very special relationship with them. Dianne

  5. LC Says:

    What Sue is doing is admirable, but obviously rewarding to her and appreciated, I hope, by her family. They know that the little ones are loved and will be “catching” the family’s values and history that the grandparents and parents could not replicate with hired caregivers.

    Kudos to Sue!

  6. mageb Says:

    I’ve really been enjoying pictures of Downtown and diamond head. Nope I couldn’t do that especially now. I’m getting awfully slow.

  7. Arti Says:

    I have to agree that Sue comes across as a women with a very strong will power to work!! I cant imagine doing all that work and I am just in my 20’s!!
    Have a lovely week ahead Gigi 🙂

  8. Linda Reeder Says:

    My grandkids were living far away when they were little, but I think if they were here I would have wanted them just one day a week. But I know that Sue is doing this because she wants to, not because she has to. That makes all of the difference.

  9. The Laughing Housewife Says:

    I wonder if she is emotionally needy or if her children are taking advantage of her.

  10. Kay's Musings Says:

    I find a lot of grandparents in Hawaii do a lot of babysitting in Hawaii. My neighbor used to go up to the Mainland 4 times a year to stay a month to babysit. I don’t know if I have that much energy. It takes a lot for us to spend that month in Illinois every year and do all we have to do. Your Sue is incredible!

Leave a Reply

