Our annual trips

Scenic Hawaii 014-A

Hawaiian seascape at sunset.

Life is getting better for me these days.  One of my ailments has gone into spontaneous remission, but I shall continue to take the meds for it as it might return with a vengeance.  The other two ailments still plague me, but hopefully they, too, will stop bothering me.  I don’t want anything to hinder my ability to enjoy my trip to the East coast in August.

David has been exploring possible tours of Miami and wants to sign up for an all-day tour of the city and the Everglades.  Cost is $79 per person.  This sounds unbelievably low for a 6-8 hour tour.  Is it a scam?  I told David that I will call Panda Travel in May to book a tour for us.  I think it’s better to have a reputable travel agency help us rather than sign up for a tour online.  Yes, it will cost us more due to the commission, but “better safe than sorry.”

Over the years, I have been quite pleased with Panda Travel’s service.  They handled our trips to Tokyo in 2008 and to Hong Kong and Macau in 2010.  This included air, hotel, transfers, and local tours.  Oh, it was fabulous!  If you are interested, do type TOKYO in the search bar at the top right of the main screen to see photos of our trip.  You also can do the same with HONG KONG.  You will see how much fun David and I had.

Though I love to travel abroad, I still prefer to do it just once a year.  Traveling requires stamina, which I don’t seem to have these days.  Also, it can be quite expensive.  We have budgeted a certain amount of money for our annual trips.  If the itinerary exceeds that budget, then we cut the number of days we intend to stay in that particular country.  Works for us!

11 Responses to “Our annual trips”

  1. LInda Starr Says:

    We’ve done most of our traveling via motor home and car so we can take breaks as needed, now more necessary than the past.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      My cousins did that. They flew from Hawaii to California, bought an RV, and drove all over the continent. They then stored the RV in California and flew back to Hawaii. The following year, they did the same thing. Now in their 80s, they have sold it and prefer to fly.

  2. Jeanie Says:

    I hope you stay healthy so you can enjoy your trip to the fullest. You are probably smart to book the tour through a travel agency.

  3. Christine Says:

    good idea to go with Panda for booking tours so you will be safer.

  4. DrumMajor Says:

    Be sure and ask Panda about the evening time trolley tour of D.C. It’ll be cooler and it’s a great way to see many sights without spending forever. You just need to get a taxi ride from your hotel to the departure spot.
    DrumMajor

  5. DJan Says:

    It makes plenty of good sense to me to use a reputable travel agency that you know well. I always look forward to your stories of your adventures, Gigi! You know how to have a good time. 🙂

  6. kavita Says:

    I feel that the way you plan your trips is the perfect way. Look at your recent India trip.
    Kid’s examination time at school, hope to blog once exams are over. Miss you.

  7. Kay's Musings Says:

    We might possibly head out to D.C. in December sometime if our son is able to graduate then. Mom is wishing he were graduating in spring instead.

    Traveling does take a bit of stamina. We’re still taking mom with us on some trips, but we’re careful to make sure she doesn’t have to exert herself too much.

    She will not go with us to China this year.

  8. Cathy Says:

    Hello Gigi
    That’s great to hear some of your aches and pains are going into ‘hibernation’ – with luck they will stay that way for the rest of the year. Being ‘crook’ when you are far from home doesn’t make for a happy time at all
    Good luck with all your planning – like you I feel its silly to take risks and its much Better to be Safe than Sorry
    Take care
    Cathy

  9. The Laughing Housewife Says:

    Glad you are feeling better!

  10. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I have developed my own itenerary more than once and alsu used local guides to show me (or we) around. Each approach has its plus and minuses in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

