Looking at the bright side

Sailboat and humans in Hawaiian waters at sunset.

Scenic Hawaii 017-A

Scenic Hawaii 018-A

Well, I guess you all are dying to know what happened yesterday.  The salary negotiations between David and his boss have come to a standstill.

“It is bad timing,” his boss said.  “Wait until our financing comes through and we are able to move into our new building.”

So, David has decided to be patient and bide his time.  All is not lost.  He still has a job, and he gets to come home at 6 pm on most nights to dine with me.

If you have ever had a job, you probably realize that it is not the task, itself, that is difficult.  It is the people you have to deal with that makes the job difficult.  Everybody has a unique personality.  Some people are likeable, while others are irritating or annoying.  How you relate to them determines whether you are stressed out or not.  Sometimes, there is so much interpersonal conflict at work that you are forced to resign for health reasons or you are fired for your inability to get along.

So far so good.  David has worked at his present job for almost 20 years with no end in sight.  His salary is not that great, but the benefits are superior.  How can you beat an excellent profit sharing plan, free family health insurance, free parking, and 22 days vacation?  Plus his own air conditioned office?

There are pros and cons to any job.  Kudos to my husband for looking at the bright side.  He has seen his co-workers being fired left and right, but he still has a job.  ‘Nuff said.

9 Responses to “Looking at the bright side”

  1. Jeanie Says:

    You are right about the pros and cons of any job. I hope David can hang in until it is possible for him to get that raise.

  2. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Yes, there are pros and cons to any job and the higher you rise the more envy is stirred up which can be stressful indeed. The best jobs I had were when I was at the bottom of the totem pole and made peanuts. No one envied me then.

    The other thing that hurts as you increase your pay is the increase in taxes. When I received a promotion one time and saw my taxes next payday, I said to my boss, I’m not sure it was worth it. He said, its always worth it. I am glad he thought so. Dianne

  3. Christine Says:

    I guess the pros do outweigh the cons. Those are good benefits. These days, it’s hard to get and keep a secure job.

  4. Kay's Musings Says:

    Very true. I’d love to tell him to hang it and find another job because this present boss does not deserve him. However, isn’t it close to retirement? So perhaps he doesn’t have to suffer much longer? I sure hope so because this aggravation is not good for his overall health.

  5. Suzanne Says:

    I know 5 people that lost their job in 2013. It is good to have one. Fingers crossed he recoups his salary in the future.

  6. Cathy Says:

    I suppose that answer from the boss was better than a direct NO!
    Don’t forget the old saying – The slower you go – the faster you get there. Wait on and the reward will come I’m sure.
    Take care
    Cathy

  7. L...w Says:

    Ditto what Cathy said…but can’t help but feel it is a lame answer. But then again jobs are not plenty for the picking and employers know they have the upper hand.

  8. Arti Says:

    20 years at a place! That is just superb! Its great that David is looking at the positives, hope the things gradually fall into place. Have a wonderful day 🙂

  9. NRIGirl Says:

    Hi Gigi! I am pleased to pass on the Liebster Award to you. Please check out my latest post for more info. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

