Happy 97th birthday, Mom!

Moms 97th BD 057-A

My mother, Julia, celebrated her 97th birthday at the Olive Tree Café in Manoa.  More than 20 guests attended, and David snapped 63 photos.  I am posting just 10 of them.

Moms 97th BD 013-A

Mom with her 2 surviving younger sisters, Marge (left) and Bobbie (right).  My mother was the eldest of 10 children.  Five of them are now deceased.

Moms 97th BD 004-A

This is one of her 2 surviving brothers, Harold, and his wife, Marilyn.  The other brother lives in Ohio.

Moms 97th BD 006-A

My younger sister, Sylvia, kisses Mom.  Sylvia owns Greens & Vines, a popular vegan restaurant in Honolulu.

Moms 97th BD 024-A

My younger sister, Nedra, is Mom’s primary caregiver.

Moms 97th BD 028-A

My older daughter, Maria, sits with her children, Rylan and Julia.

Moms 97th BD 016-A

The birthday cake.

Moms 97th BD 051-A

Julia (named after my mother) and Rylan blow out Mom’s candles for her.

Moms 97th BD 061-A

Note the delicious chocolate cake that was also served.

Moms 97th BD 062-A

To me, this was the cutest guest in the room:  My 3 year old grandson, Rylan.

15 Responses to “Happy 97th birthday, Mom!”

  1. Christine Says:

    too bad you missed this Gigi, you have your mom’s good looks. And happy 97th to her.!

  2. DJan Says:

    She is beautiful! You are so fortunate to have her with you still. My mother passed away at 69 and I still miss her, even though it’s been twenty years now. I don’t think anybody in our family has ever lived that long. You are also fortunate to have longevity genes! 🙂

  3. Suzanne Says:

    She looks great. Rylan sure is a cutie!!!!! You have lots of family. That is wonderful.

  4. R.Ramakrishnan Says:

    Your mom looks amazingly happy, serene & beautiful ! A grand family celebration and fabulous pics from David. Many more happy returns of the day to your mom. May God bless her and bless the entire family too. Hope she lives on to become a centurion. You are missing in the photos Gigi – where were you ?

  5. Jeanie Says:

    Your mom looks really wonderful. I am sorry you had to miss the party but David did a great job with the pics.

  6. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    It’s news to me that the Olive Tree has opened in Manoa. I drive by it every day and have watched the owner work on it for over five years. He has put a lot of loving care and thought into renovating that space, but no one I know knew what his goal was. Maybe all that care and attention is reflected in the attention paid to your mother by your extended family! 🙂 A beautiful tribute to her.

  7. The Laughing Housewife Says:

    I never noticed before but you look like your Mom.

  8. NRIGirl Says:

    That is fun! Belated birthday wishes to Julia! Many more happy returns!

    What was the menu?

  9. kavita Says:

    Belated birthday wishes and also wishing good health and smiles 🙂 Lovely pictures. Stay blessed Gigi.

  10. Ana Says:

    wow Gigi, how amazing is that? I want to live until I am 100 with a wonderful family and happiness. I am happy she lives with your sister. We are loosing thee respect and reverence for our elderly, which I find sad…

  11. L...w Says:

    Happy 97th Birthday, Julia! She looks so healthy. Great genes and Rylan looks so much like his great grandma. Such a handsome boy who carries himself well for being only 3. My husband saw his pic and said he looks very intelligent.

    L…w

  12. Kay's Musings Says:

    Happy birthday to your mom. She looks really fantastic! I would love to have her genes for looking so young. I’m sorry you had to miss that party.

  13. Linda Reeder Says:

    If I could look as good and be as intact as your Mother, I might even want to live that long. Amazing!

  14. SusieOfArabia Says:

    Your mom looks great for 97!!!

Leave a Reply

