Humor and longevity

Scenic Hawaii 025-A

Chinaman’s Hat, Oahu, Hawaii.

I was chuckling to myself one evening, and David wanted to know why.  I told him that he should have been here to videotape me and Rylan howling like opera singers.  My grandson had been hopping up and down to the beat of some music, when he happened to jump on my infected toe.

“Owiee, owiee, owiee!!!” I cried.

He started to bawl, because I was bawling.  We sounded like opera singers singing a duet!  Oh, it was hilarious!  It was something film director, Woody Allen, would have shown in one of his movies.

Yeah, I don’t know why, but I do have a weird sense of humor.

Some of you mentioned that I look like my 97 year old mother.  Well, I sure hope I don’t look that old.  On the other hand, if you were to tell Mom that she looked like me, she would say, “Wow, I didn’t know I looked that young!”

Longevity.  Isn’t that what we all want?  I would love to reach 100 years of age, but only if I had the good health to enjoy it.  What I dread the most are dementia and blindness.  I depend on my excellent vision and memory so much.  If I had neither, how in the world would I be able to read and write on the computer and maintain my blog?

10 Responses to “Humor and longevity”

  1. Suzanne Says:

    I bet you were a pair. I agree. I want to live as long as possible as long as I am of sound mind and body.

  2. DJan Says:

    Ouch! Your toe is still giving you problems. I do hope it’s better soon. I too only wish to live a long time if I can be healthy enough to enjoy it.

  3. Jeanie Says:

    Hold on to your sense of humor and you may just get to that 100. I
    It is hard to think about living beyond our ability to function on our own.

  4. L...w Says:

    Oooh you miss your.precious grandson. I think of our grandchildren often too. I am looking forward to watching them over their spring break from school.

  5. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I don’t mind longevity as long as I have a little dosh and am relatively healthy. Dianne

  6. Christine Says:

    Gigi you look like your mom in your beautiful bone structure, nothing to do with the fact that she is 97! Gosh that toe is still infected?

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Yes. I have had 2 surgeries and taken 4 different antibiotics for it and it is still not healed. I have to see the podiatrist next week for follow up.

  7. Linda Reeder Says:

    I am concerned that your toe is still not healed. Keep going to the doctor. You need to know why.

  8. Musings Says:

    Longevity is fine, truly, if you are in good health. My uncle is 93 and doing great. That would be wonderful. I told my cousins they are so lucky they have his genes.

  9. Grannymar Says:

    All I ask is to live as long as I can be useful to others.

    Do take care of that toe, I would ask for a second opinion if it shows no sign of clearing up.

Leave a Reply

