Enrolling in culinary classes

book case art 001-A

International souvenirs on my bookcase:  Top, clockwise:  Thai woodcut, our photo on a Hong Kong plate, 3 brass peacock shoehorns from India, and Chinese calligraphy meaning Longevity.

ferns 002-A

Our luscious Boston ferns hang outside our family room, blocking the view of our neighbors’ ugly fence.  The reason why they cut down their ivy and crotons from the fence was that white flies fed on the plants and got on their laundry, drying outside.  I wish our neighbors would install a prettier fence to replace the chain link they have now.

The souvenirs and the ferns are what catch my eye every morning when I go to my computer.  They never fail to make me happy.  Little things mean a lot, don’t they?

Since I stopped babysitting my grandson at the end of January, I have been pursuing my interests in blogging, writing, cooking and baking.  These hobbies really are a lot of fun.  I enjoy being creative.

I intend to enroll in some culinary classes, which are often taught at a famous restaurant or community college.  The ultimate reward is to sample what has been prepared during the class.  This is how I learned to make delicious Thai spring rolls and Thai beef curry.  Yummy!

Some people like to draw and paint.  Others like to hike and swim.  Me?  I prefer to cook, bake, and feast with my family and friends!

10 Responses to “Enrolling in culinary classes”

  1. R.Ramakrishnan Says:

    Happy Women’s Day Gigi. Have a great day.

  2. Christine Says:

    let us know how these cooking classes go, sounds like fun and learning at the same time!

  3. SusieOfArabia Says:

    Hi Gigi – Surprise! I’m still around but haven’t been able to visit blogs like I used to. It’s pretty sporadic now but I’m hoping to be around more often. I’m sure you’ll love your cooking class. I’d love to take some classes too one of these days… Hope life is good.

  4. Denise Says:

    Your collectibles and ferns are lovely Gigi. Mementos along with plants and flowers are very dear to me too and bring a lot of pleasure. Breaking bread with family and friends, sitting and talking around the table,and eating good food is one of life’s greatest pleasures. Also for me walking and being out in nature is another. As long as I have these in my life I will always be happy. Have a great weekend and I am looking forward to seeing you in August very much 🙂

  5. Linda Reeder Says:

    We are having a rare dry SUNNY day. I am enjoying one of my hobbies – gardening. It’s good to be active outside!

  6. NRIGirl Says:

    Cool! Have a good one Gigi!

  7. Arti Says:

    Those are some very pretty souveniers! And I love that view out of the room. Cooking is something that I enjoy a lot, its kind of soothing!
    Have a lovely weekend Gigi 🙂

  8. Musings Says:

    Cooking class is a natural for you. I hope you can find one close by that you can enjoy.

Leave a Reply

