Random thoughts

lime jello 002-A

Lime Jello with sliced banana.

Yup, I finally decided to stop baking cookies and make Jello for dessert, instead.  It’s not only cheaper, but it also is less fattening, and aren’t we all trying to lose weight?  I just love the flavor of lime gelatin with sliced banana.  Refreshing!

Random thoughts.  After President Obama’s second term is over, who will take his place?  Hillary Clinton looks so old and tired.  I doubt she will be able to handle the stress of being president.  We need someone young, vibrant, energetic, and dynamic.  Hillary is not the one.

I was surprised when a Mormon relative of mine declared that she did not vote for Mitt Romney for president and that she hated Paul Ryan, too.  She wants to keep Social Security intact and likes Obama Care.  I wonder how many other Mormons voted for Barack Obama.  Good question.  (David and I voted for Obama, by the way.)

David and I hope that we will be able to tour the White House in August.  Tours have been cancelled due to budget cuts.  This probably will be our last trip to Washington, DC, and our last chance to view the White House.  We won’t be back, because there are too many other cities and countries we would like to see before we become too old to travel.  Been there, done that, so to speak.

When I look back on my life, I like to remember all of the traveling I have done.  What terrific adventures!  My life isn’t over.  There is still more to see and experience!

10 Responses to “Random thoughts”

  1. Christine Says:

    your dessert looks delicious and artistic! I didn’t know they had stopped the White House tours, that’s too bad.

  2. R.Ramakrishnan Says:

    Don’t worry about “After Obama who?” . Some bright candidate will turn up suddenly. After all when Bush Jr.was in power did you ever imagine that Obama will sweep the elections?
    And you have still plenty of travel left in your life.

  3. DJan Says:

    I read that the White House tours are canceled indefinitely. I too think this won’t last, and I hope they will be reinstated by the time you travel there.

  4. Kay's Musings Says:

    Did you write to one of the congressmen about a tour also? We’ve done the White House tour, but were thinking of taking my mother in December when hopefully Jon will graduate from Johns Hopkins. She’s never been to D.C. She’s not going to like the cold though. Too bad he couldn’t graduate in spring.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I actually called Colleen Hanabusa’s staff both in Hawaii and in DC. They wiil take us around the Capitol and have submitted our request to see the White House to the Secret Service.

  5. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Cutting tours at the WH was stupid. And unnecessary too. Won’t save peanuts and upsets school kids.

    Far more serious things are going on. Politics is complicated for sure. Dianne

  6. L...w Says:

    Green jello is my grandson’s favorite. You just reminded me to pick some up. With bananas is even better. Thanks for the pic and post.

  7. laurie Says:

    this jello with bananas is fav in our house too! I hope you’re able to have the white house tour,

  8. Linda Reeder Says:

    I haven’t had Jello for a long time. It does look good!
    When I heard the WH tours were being cut off, I immediately thought of you and your pending trip. I do hope some sensible solutions can be agreed upon before then. Drastic cuts will only set back our economic recovery.

  9. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    To be absolutely honest, I have to say I have a serious problem with people who did not vote for Obama. IF THEY ARE ADAMANT, COUNT ME OUT! 🙂 Hurray for your intdependent thinking Mormon relatives! Actually, for now, meaning the next year or so, it’s sort of a deal breaker in my mind. This includes one of my brothers who has gone absolutely Rush-Limbaugh bonkers. I am doing everything I can to maintain our relationship. It’s hard; I love the guy to pieces and just don’t understand.

    I am now a single guy, and I can say that any woman I meet who was disrespectful to our President would be on my no-go list. Not that she would give a rip, if she were so minded. Besides, I’m not looking, but this is a thought that has crossed my mind. At my age (76) I could well be single for the rest of my life, and I’m not afraid of that. Let fate tell me where I’m going. To tell you the truth, it’s sort of helpful to have a litmus test. I can simply ask myself the question, “Does this person add to my life or subtract from it?” When I was in high school and college, which is the last time I was looking, I put up with all sorts of crap, excuse my French, being Mr. Nice Guy. “Oh, you’re prejudiced against this group or that group? Well, Mr. Nice Guy will give you a free pass so we can go to the movies again next Saturday.” I’m talking abut the Fifties. Not today, and I didn’t live in Hawaii, where people are more tolerant, back then.

Leave a Reply

