Loving thoughts

Scenic Hawaii 026-A

Hawaiian seascape.

My SIL, Pat, mentioned that she had been taking weaving classes at the Honolulu Museum of Art and could leave her unfinished work there, because she lives in a small condominium.  Weaving classes might be worth looking into, as it is something different for me to do.

I am still on the prowl for a cooking class to attend.  Maybe, the Wednesday issue of the Star-Advertiser has a list of such classes.  That issue focuses on food and restaurants.

My friend, Dawn, told me she is thinking of publishing her collection of short stories as an e-book on Amazon.  She suggested that I do something similar with my three memoirs.  However, I have so many hard copies left that I don’t feel I should do an e-book at this time.  So far, I have grossed $8,000 in book sales.  My biggest client, Borders Book Stores, is no longer in existence, but Barnes & Noble.com and Amazon.com still sell my books.

I have been thinking of my aunt who died of lung cancer at the age of 59.  She never smoked a day in her life, golfed regularly, and ate a healthy diet.  Yet, she died so young!  I don’t exercise and am over-weight, but I am still alive at 67. Can anybody explain why?

Loving thoughts of people, past and present.  God bless them all.

9 Responses to “Loving thoughts”

  1. Cathy Says:

    Just the luck of the draw I suppose Gigi – was she your mother’s sister or your father’s.
    Hope you find something to entertain your mind and body soon. You know with your love of cooking those sort of classes may hold your attention longer than anything else
    Take care
    Cathy

  2. Christine Says:

    Go figure and your mom is 97…. e-book sounds like something you could do to keep your books in the mainstream.

  3. Suzanne Says:

    A friend of mine lost her 28-year old daughter to Pancreatic cancer last week. She fought it for 7-years. She, obviously, is devastated. Yes! Loving thoughts, life can be hard.

  4. Jeanie Says:

    There are some things that just can’t be explained. My mother died at 51 and my dad at 57 so I am very grateful to have made it to 65.

  5. DJan Says:

    I have already outlived both my parents. They never made it to 70, but who knows how much time any of us have on earth? Best to enjoy each and every day! 🙂

  6. Linda Reeder Says:

    Since we have made it to our “golden years”, I guess it’s now not a matter of how long we live, but how well we live. Take care of yourself and stay healthy, Gigi. Don’t tempt fate. And I hope you find just what you are looking for to occupy you and inspire your talents.

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Actually, its pretty scary to be alive at almost 71. Make sure your retirement $$ last. Dianne

  8. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    Art classes at the Honolulu Museum of Art have become an integral part of my life. I remember taking watercolors in a room with a bunch of weaving looms and wondering what they were for. Some people like to take jewery making or glass assemblage. And there is a whole array of painting and drawing classes. Most classes develop an esprit de corps of pleasant people and that is part of the experience too.

Leave a Reply

