Compared to a lot of other people…

yellow mums 001-A

Yellow Mums on my coffee table.  Thanks, hubby!

David complained that he could barely drive home from the gym, because his right knee hurt so much.  He thinks he should have his knee replaced as soon as possible, because he does not want anything to interfere with our trip to the East coast in August.

He called Straub Clinic, but the earliest appointment he could get with an orthopedic surgeon was in June.  So, he now has a consultation appointment at Queen’s Medical Center on Thursday.  He hopes that this surgeon will use a minimally invasive procedure and that recovery time will be short, but effective.

After speaking with David about the above, I drove to the post office to mail my four books to blogger Christine, who has agreed to swap her two paintings for these books.  Boy, was I shocked by the cost of postage to Toronto, Canada:  $19.95.  These books were mailed in a flat rate envelope, which can be used in the USA as well as internationally.  Domestic rate is $5.15.  Why is the international rate so much more?

Anyway, let’s all count our blessings.  I always tell myself that things could be a lot worse.  And my darling husband even has the audacity to say, “Compared to a lot of other people, we are not doing too poorly.”  Yes, I agree!

14 Responses to “Compared to a lot of other people…”

  1. denise Says:

    Beautiful mums! I always widened my eyes at the cost of overseas postage. Sending gifts to friends and relatives sometimes cost more than the actual gift.

  2. Christine Says:

    Gigi, Canadian postage is horrible in itself. I really appreciate this and will make it up to you in some way. This is not even including the cost of the books!

  3. Jeanie Says:

    I agree…..you and David (and most of us) have a lot to be grateful for.
    I have mailed packages to a blog friend in Paraguay and the postage is often more expensive than what is in the package, and it can take over a month to get there.

  4. R.Ramakrishnan Says:

    Hope David has a painless & quick knee surgery & is back on his feet fast.

  5. DJan Says:

    I hope that David has a good meeting with the doctor and finds a way forward. The fact that we are able to replace joints these days still amazes me! I’ll try to avoid sending anything internationally, if it’s that expensive.

  6. Suzanne Says:

    I agree. I am so glad medicine has come so far.

    That is some pricey postage. Yikes!

  7. NRIGirl Says:

    Hope David gets his knee taken care of on time to fully recover the planned visit to DC.

    Can’t wait to see those paintings.

  8. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Next up, I am taking a good look at your post from yesterday. David and I have decided we cannot drive to my daughter’s place anymore. 3 hours each way and neither of us can walk after holding the accelerator down for that long (plus stopping and starting in traffic). Good luck to David

  9. L...w Says:

    I was reading an article that stated:

    “John Williams (shadowstats.com) report of real average weekly earnings shows that Americans are taking home less purchasing power than they did in the 1960s and 1970s.”

    I know it doesn’t explain the high cost of international postage vs. domestic. On the other hand, recently, while searching for plane tickets for our son I noticed Vancouver BC flights were cheaper than Seattle.

    • L...w Says:

      I recently discovered how much cheaper flights to Bellingham International via Alaska Airlines is than from Vancouver or Seattle to Hawaii.

      • gigihawaii Says:

        Lisa told me that it is cheaper to fly ROUND TRIP from Hawaii to Vegas and back than ROUND TRIP from Vegas to Hawaii and back.

      • L...w Says:

        Interesting that it is cheaper FROM Hawaii than TO Hawaii. Dumb me…I wish there was an edit button, but I meant to say the same round trip FROM Hawaii, to Bellingham was cheaper than to Vancouver BC or to Seattle. I then read on Yelp (if I recall correctly) that many people drive down from Vancouver or up from Seattle airports to fly out of Bellingham. I added “to Hawaii” in my reply as an afterthought in case readers didn’t know I’m talking about flights from Hawaii arghhh

  10. LC Says:

    All the best to David in his consult with surgeon.

Leave a Reply

