How many of us are that lucky?

Julia, Rylan, Maria 002-A

Julia, Rylan, and Maria.

Julia, Rylan, Maria 003-A

Maria helps Rylan with the iPad.

My grandkids came over with my daughter.  Apparently, it’s spring break, and they all took two buses to get here as part of their “family adventure.”  Julia intends to show her kindergarten class her bus transfer ticket and talk about her bus adventure.  Grant arrived later to drive them back home.

I think it’s wonderful that Maria and Grant are school teachers and can be with their children during school holidays and breaks.  Can you think of a better job than that if you are a parent?

One of my doctors is retiring at the age of 50 in June.  He claims he wants to spend more time with his elderly father, but I have a feeling that he is simply suffering from job burnout.  He is not the only doctor I know who retired early.  David’s gastroenterologist retired at age 55.  It’s good that these physicians have enough money to retire on.  How many of us are that lucky?

As for David, he keeps vacillating between retiring at age 80, then age 70, and then age 66.  It will be interesting to see what happens.  A lot depends on his health and his willingness to endure stress.

12 Responses to “How many of us are that lucky?”

  1. Beatrice Says:

    Actually we retire here at age 65 (men) and 62 (ladies), but government says you have to work untill 67…
    thanx for your comment on my grandson!
    He will definitely be successful further on as he is already too deep in the music business he is doing.
    But it costs a lot of money to keep up with all the appointments he has. In May he has to travel to Bavaria for the nationwide challenge.
    My late husband was his mentor; I have to find ideas to help him out in the near future…
    Love Beatrice

  2. DJan Says:

    I retired at age 65 and 4 months, only a few months from “full” retirement age (it was 65 and 10 months when I retired). Along with our annuities, we are comfortable if not wealthy on our Social Security. I hope it is still there for younger people when they get older, since it makes all the difference in the ability to retire.

  3. Christine Says:

    It seems young to retire at 50 or 55 unless they have something else in mind to do. Lovely to be able to see your daughter and grandkids at Spring Break!

  4. Jeanie Says:

    I hope David gets to retire sooner rather than later since it sounds like his job has a lot of stress. I still work a few days each month and it has been a great change from working every day.

  5. Suzanne Says:

    What a fun adventure. The time teachers get off is wonderful. I know of a few people that changed careers in their late 40’s to early 50’s to do something new. They all planned it for a few years to make sure they could afford it.

  6. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I thought I would work til age 70, but events conspired to drive me out of my job at age 64. Yes, you have much less money after you retire, but being dead is worse. Dianne

  7. Denise Says:

    Well, as you know, we’re coming up to retirement and although Gregg is looking forward to it, I wonder if he won’t miss going to work every day considering he has been in it for the last forty plus years. He says not right now. I always said he would make a great teacher as he has the patience of a saint and loves the idea of teaching history. I told him maybe he can get a part time job at one of our night schools. Right now we are focused on doing a lot of traveling though. I think it’s great that teachers can have the same holidays as their kids, the best of both worlds.

  8. L...w Says:

    Your children and grandchildren are so photogenic. Not only is having teachers as parents wonderful during school break periods but the professional training they got must help wonders with their parenting skills. I only wish I was taught more about parenting. I was so naive as a parent.

  9. Karen Says:

    As a former teacher, I know that ‘vacations’ are often used to get caught up grading papers, etc. OR for getting ahead with lesson planning and the prep work req’d to do so.

  10. NRIGirl Says:

    Nice to see Maria and kids. Bus trip sure sounds like fun and the kids will remember it the rest of their life.

  11. Linda Reeder Says:

    We were those teachers who had vacations with our kids. That was good. We never had much money for fancy trips though. And talk about burn out! Tom retired at 59 and I at 62. We have pensions and social security, and with no debt, we do just fine.

  12. Grannymar Says:

    Don’t plan too far ahead, instead enjoy the here and now.

Leave a Reply

