What else can I say?

scenic hawaii 002-A

Hawaiian stream.

I was going to write again about David’s hostile work environment, but decided not to.  You will know what happens next when it happens.  Let’s hope for the best.

So, what can I say that is upbeat and positive?  Hmmm.

I discovered that potted flowers, particularly mums, will last longer if I water them once a week rather than every other day.  I was literally watering them to death.  In fact, mums can last a month indoors if you water them sparingly.  Just touch the soil with your finger, and if it is damp, don’t water.

So many of our relatives are downsizing these days.  One  couple sold their townhouse and moved to Pohai Nani, where they are renting a cottage for $3,700 per month and will be cared for when they need assistance later.

Another couple is selling their 3 bedroom house in Mililani to move to a retirement home in Leeward Oahu.  They had to show the developer that they were able to afford it.  Friends of theirs did not qualify because of insufficient assets.

And still another couple sold their mansion on Mariner’s Ridge to buy a small condominium in Hawaii Kai.  They did this, because they travel a lot.  They have even hired someone to water their indoor plants while they are traveling.

As for David and me, we hope to live in our 3 bedroom 2 bath house until we die.  No retirement or nursing home for us.

8 Responses to “What else can I say?”

  1. Christine Says:

    Interesting about the downsizing plans Gigi. These are tough life decisions and it sure helps to have money.

  2. DJan Says:

    I do hope it all goes well for David. I’ve heard before from you about his work environment. I also didn’t know that about mums. And I do hope you will be able to stay in your home forever! 🙂

  3. Jeanie Says:

    There are so many options for retirement living these days but many of them come with a very high price. We certainly want to stay right where we are as long as that is possible.

  4. Arti Says:

    I hope David’s workplace hostility lessens. The downsizing seems to be an epidemic these days. Have a lovely weekend Gigi 🙂

  5. L...w Says:

    I hope to live in our home, but travel more in our retirement. I also don’t know if outright retirement is the best option for us. I am thinking working less but longer is also a consideration. After all, we might get bored being retired full time. Working only a few days a month is not too bad.

  6. Grannymar Says:

    sometimes I think I would like to downsize, but where to? I don’t want to live in a city, so right now is not the time to do it.

  7. Denise Says:

    Sorry to hear that David’s workplace is still having issues. We are downsizing but only getting rid of things in the house. We have stairs and I can see that one day this will be an issue, but until that day arrives we’ll stay put and still keep getting rid of unnecessary things. They say if you haven’t used something over the past year then it has to go. I won’t tell you how many years of boxes we have in the basement. I suppose they will definitely have to go when we get into a full swing of getting rid of things.

  8. Musings Says:

    Art thinks we’ll have to downsize some day. I’m not so sure I’d want to live in an apartment though. I like being able to have at least a small yard…. which is what we have now actually.

Leave a Reply

