Changed our mind

Rylan, lisa, me 001-a

Lisa photographed Rylan last April.  Note the condition of our carpet.

We have decided to cancel the installation of vinyl plank flooring in our house.  Reason?  It’s mainly my fear that David or I will fall and break a bone.  Carpeting will cushion and protect us.

My 97 year old mother has fallen many times.  Once she broke her forearm when she fell forward.  She ended up with a cast.  Three times she has fallen on her back, necessitating surgery on the vertebrae of her spine.  It’s no fun when you are elderly and in pain from falls.  Too bad her floor is made of hard wood.

Our carpet doesn’t look that bad.  We intend to keep it for 10 more years before changing it.  In 10 years, I’ll be 77 and David will be 74.  That probably will be the last time we change the carpet before we die.  It’s hard to believe we will live to be a hundred.

So, bye-bye vinyl, and hello carpet!

12 Responses to “Changed our mind”

  1. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I will be curious to see what you finally decide in 10 years. LOL

  2. Christine Says:

    you will also save some money here!

  3. Suzanne Says:

    Your carpeting looks good too.

  4. DJan Says:

    That carpeting looks like it’s in good condition. And yes, you will also save some money. Looks like a good choice to me. 🙂

  5. L...w Says:

    In 10 years the flooring industry will have a much better product out too. With boomers aging, somebody should be thinking about how to cushion falls better. I guess with concrete flooring carpet padding is about the best cushion there is.

  6. Ana Says:

    Gigi, I think your carpet looks fine and you are right about being cautious.

  7. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    I have the type of flooring you are NOT getting. I can give you another reason you have made a good choice: SORE FEET. I have what you’re not getting for flooring. It’s fine, but…. I took up my large rug because of the new puppy and I’m waiting for dog “maturity” to arrive before I put the rug down again. As a result, padding around the house in bare feet sometimes leads to sore feet. I have friends who confirm this. One hops from one throw rug to the next in her house to avoid walking on her bare floors.

  8. DrumMajor Says:

    Gigi — I like your carpet. We’re so cold in Kansas, not too many people have bare floors, or may have huge rugs throughout. Even here, I like to be barefoot.
    I think you said a while back that your bone density was good. Many elderly fall because their thinning bone structure breaks first, then they fall. But it sounds like good bones might run in your family. Your Mom has been lucky not to break an upper leg or hip, or hit her face or head on a table corner. Those are pretty common.
    I like being short; not so far to fall. Hope tall David’s bone density is okay; probably so with those stairs at his work.
    Need snow? I got 7 inches today. Could box it up. We’re all getting sick of it.
    Cheers, DrumMajor

  9. Mage Bailey Says:

    Wood here.

Leave a Reply

