Happy Easter!

Easter Flowers 001-A

Easter mums.

I watched the opening scene of “Lincoln,” which showed soldiers bayonetting each other – and was so appalled by the violence that I told David to turn it off.  I HATE violence of any kind.

We watched “The Holiday,” instead.  Romantic comedies are more my cup of tea, anyway, and I thoroughly enjoyed this one.  Wow, Jude Law had such an exquisite face.  I couldn’t take my eyes off of him.  The movie was made in 2006, which means he was around 33 years old at the time.  How different he looked as Anna’s husband in last year’s “Anna Karenina.”  He had no sex appeal whatsoever in that film.

We will be celebrating Easter at Aunty Bobbie’s.  This is the first party I am attending since the Christmas get together I hosted last December.  It will be nice to see the family again. I know the lunch buffet will be fantastic, as usual.

Hope you all have a splendid Easter!

7 Responses to “Happy Easter!”

  1. Christine Says:

    Gigi ‘The Holiday’ is one of my favourite movies, the fairy tale quality, everything’s beautiful including the actors. Mind you, Jude Law is quite the ladie’s man. I will avoid Lincoln then.

  2. DJan Says:

    I’m sorry you didn’t watch the rest of Lincoln, but I was also appalled at the violent scene at the beginning. It reminded me of how war has changed from hand to hand combat to killing at a distance. I haven’t seen The Holiday but will now have to check it out.

  3. Suzanne Says:

    Happy Easter and have a great time at the party.

  4. laurie Says:

    I’m with you on the violent movies, do not like them at all! Have a wonderful Easter with family my far away friend,

  5. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Gosh I just watched that film (i have the blue-ray DVD) and there were no soldiers bayoneting each other…unless I am blind. Not at all like the Search for Private Ryan.

    The Lincoln film I saw was very low-key and wonderful if you are at all interested in politics. Most scenes are about Lincoln as family man and president in meetings. Covers the last four months of his life. Great performances by many fine actors. Dianne

  6. L...w Says:

    I don’t like watching movies. Sometimes we drive to the theatres because we think we’re going to the movies and end up not going in. Nothing inspires us. The last few movies were so boring it almost pains me to sit and watch.

    L…w

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I asked David and he said there were about 30 seconds of violence in the opening scenes, but the rest of the film is talking. I don’t know why Speilberg put that violence in the first scenes as it is misleading for those who like action films, which this is decidedly not.

    My concern as a historian was that the film would be boring for those who have difficulty following legal talk (its rather like a courtroom drama for the most part). However, it is an excellent film and the story of how the 13th amendment to the Constitution was passed by Congress. A very important subject for everyone as it contains the “equal protection” phrase so critical in today’s courts (i.e. current pending Supreme Court decision on DOMA). (I think this is what lawyers referring to). Dianne

Leave a Reply

