It helps to have health insurance

scenic hawaii 004-A

Hawaiian rainbow and palm trees.

I have been feeling under the weather lately, so much so that I needed to go to the emergency room.   However, David told me that UHA won’t cover ER visits unless they are a matter of life or death.  So, he took me to Concentra Urgent Care, located near the airport.  My co-payment was only $10.00, which covered both the lab test and the doctor’s visit.  And, yes, the doctors are all board certified.  There are branches on the mainland.  The only trouble with Concentra is that they open at 7:00 am and close at 5:00 pm Monday-Friday.  If you need to be treated at night or the weekend, well, too bad!

It does help to have health insurance, though.  Without UHA, I would have had to pay more out of pocket.  David knows some people who have only Medicare and Humana.  They’ve had a hard time finding a doctor who would treat them.  To its credit, Straub Clinic & Hospital accepts such patients.

I wonder how ObamaCare works.  If David resigns from his job, will he qualify for that plan?  Will physicians be forced to treat ObamaCare patients?  It’s time to google ObamaCare for more information!

16 Responses to “It helps to have health insurance”

  1. Cathy Says:

    Hello Gigi
    It must be difficult to understand where you are able to be treated – many complain about our health system but we don’t have that problem. A & E at the public hospitals is free and open 24hrs even if sometimes there is a long wait after triage

  2. Christine Says:

    Gigi so sorry to hear you had to go to emergency, Canadian healthcare has it’s problems but it’s available to everyone.

  3. The Laughing Housewife Says:

    Sorry to hear you were unwell. Feel better soon.

  4. DJan Says:

    Hope you are feeling better soon. It’s never fun to be sick.

  5. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Although some Democrats wanted Obamacare to incorporate Medicare, others fought that idea, and mercifully, it does not.

    However, Medicare has its own issues, so it is good to have additional private insurance. David and I have different plans (I elected to stay on my own plan when we married.)
    I have Blue Cross/Blue Shield. he has something else.

    I also have two Long Term Care plans, which everyone should have…at least one.

    Dianne

  6. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Oh yes, I hope you are feeling better. You are too young to have all these issues. Dianne

  7. mlum808 Says:

    My retirement benefits includes health insurance for me and my spouse. I hope you are feeling better.

  8. Musings Says:

    I’m so sorry, Gigi. I hope you feel better soon. We had problems when Art was using Medicare and military TriWest. Doctors just didn’t want to take him on as a patient. Now he goes to Tripler and it’s a LOT easier to get care.

  9. L...w Says:

    Hope you are feeling better today. Yes, medical insurance is a big concern. So far with our Kaiser plan we seem to be adequately cared for. Despite the steep out of pocket for ER, I think it is still accessible if we should need it.

    L…w

  10. maria Says:

    If its not life or death you can try Straub’s Doctors on Call in Waikiki (http://www.straubhealth.org/sch/clinics/doctors-on-call.aspx) open until 11pm. You can also try Pearl City Urgent Care near Walmart (http://www.honolulu-urgentcare.com/) open until 6 or 7pm. I think the Doctors on Call may be better equipped for more illnesses though.

  11. Suzanne Says:

    Feel better and let me know what you learn. At this time doctors don’t have to participate and it is my understanding, since it is such a cut in pay, most in the country don’t want to.

  12. Musings Says:

    We’re grateful we can use Tripler even though I’d heard some not so good things about them. So far they’ve been pretty good.

  13. LC Says:

    Hope you are feeling better.

  14. LInda Starr Says:

    Feel better, lack of healthcare is a problem. I pray I stay well enough to make it till I can get medicare but wonder if that will matter. luckily Gary has VA

Leave a Reply

