Striking a deal and other issues

scenic hawaii 006-A

Hawaiian sunset.

David and I have struck a deal.  When he buys a new television set, I’ll buy myself a new Prius.  My present car, a Hyundai Accent, is more than 10 years old and has almost no power going uphill.  How can I possibly drive friends up Tantalus to show them a panoramic view of the city?

Of course, this will all depend on when our present TV dies.  I predict that it will last another 5 years, because I rarely watch it during the day.  Less use equals more life, I think.

As for the Prius, David suggested I buy a Kia Optima, instead.  He wondered how NBA star Blake Griffin, who is 6’8” tall, can possibly fit into it, when David, who is 6’1” tall, had a hard time getting into the front seat.  I told David that I don’t want to buy another gas-powered car, as the exhaust would pollute the environment.

Another issue:  Don’t you think it is foolish of NBC to move the “Tonight Show” from Hollywood to New York City?  I think it’s dumb, because both the “Tonight Show” and the “David Letterman Show” will be drawing from the same pool of talent.  Won’t the shows be redundant?

Final issue:  It’s too bad that North Korea is threatening South Korea with missiles.  I have relatives on both sides of the peninsula, and would hate to see either side obliterated.

13 Responses to “Striking a deal and other issues”

  1. Christine Says:

    My son dreams of owning a hyundai genesis for a first car. We’re in no hurry as parents. Sad about North and South Korea, this stuff happens in families too.

  2. Linda Says:

    Look at the Kia Optima Hybrid.

  3. Jeanie Says:

    When the time comes, if you test drive several cars maybe it will be easier to decide which is the right one for you.
    And yes, the situation with North Korea is really awful.

  4. Denise Says:

    I agree with Jeanie, you’ll have a better idea once you both start test driving cars. Buying a non-gas car is a great idea. In ten years when this one bites the dust, we’ll give that a lot of thought. Our old car was 12 years old when we finally bought a new one, with too much money spent on repairs and that’s the reason we got rid of it. You make a good point about the Tonight Show, and yes the situation regarding North Korea is scary.

    Thanks for stopping by my endangered squirrel post. There are times when those speech bubbles just don’t come to me, especially after a long road trip. The brain is too tired to think, lol.

  5. DrumMajor Says:

    Be sure and test drive any new car up to Tantalus! That’s quite a drive, test, and view! Maybe your current car just needs new spark plugs or a tune-up check. You could install a solar panel for the TV! DrumMajor

  6. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    The Korean situation is a horrible one, especially as the N. Koreans say they have a missle that can reach Guam. I hope that crazy dictator cools it….soon. Many folks around here of Korean descent are very concerned for relatives and friends.

    Good for you getting ready to by a Prius. I think it will do more to reduce your carbon footprint than David’s new TV.

    Dianne

  7. Linda Reeder Says:

    I do think you should consider what car David can fit comfortable in when you buy one. In five years there will be even more options. About the late night TV shows, I don’t care. i am amazed at how much news time the switch that won’t even happen for a year is getting. surely there must be more important topics for our limited news time.
    Like Korea. But then that’s all just about getting attention, so the young new Mr. Kim can frighten his enemies, the ones he hasn’t all killed off already, that is. Meanwhile his people starve and his army is loyal because they get fed at least a little.

  8. Kay's Musings Says:

    We didn’t get the Honda Insight because Art felt it didn’t have enough head room or whatever. The Prius was also better made. Now he’s looking enviously at all the Electric cars that he’s starting to see on the road.

    My daughter and family are going to South Korea in June. Needless to say, I am concerned.

  9. Beatrice Says:

    I wish for Korea that it will happen one fine day as here in Germany:
    to be one country again due to the peaceful protest of the people in the insulated part….we had the border only a short way from where I live here and I know what I am talking about! Watch towers, mines, restrictions, denigration….now the strip of death is a green zone and rest area for birds and other animals and recreation of men…..

  10. L...w Says:

    I hope electric cars will have longer ranges soon. Until then, I am not in a rush to buy another car.

  11. Olga Says:

    A car for a television is a pretty good trade.

  12. Suzanne Says:

    I knew someone that had a deal with their spouse. For every car one got the other could get another cat. I like the tv trade.

  13. Grannymar Says:

    You tell us David has bad knees. Think on about the car…. with time you may need to do all the driving, as I did. If so, you will need a car that David can get into and out of on the passenger side with ease.

Leave a Reply

