Why, oh, why?

scenic hawaii 005-A

Hawaiian sky.

David is very fond of cakes.  Fortunately, no one minds if I use Pillsbury cake mix and frosting.  It’s a great convenience and so easy to make.  Of all the brands out there, I believe Pillsbury is the best.  Our personal favorite flavor is the yellow cake with milk chocolate frosting.  I try to bake a cake every two weeks or so.  Despite our desire to lose weight, we find nothing wrong with indulging ourselves now and then.

Gone are the days when I would drink a glass of white wine before dinner.  Losing interest, I stopped doing that many years ago.  Now, I restrict my alcoholic consumption to one glass of champagne at restaurants.  Suits me and David’s wallet just fine.

My right toe had improved to the point that I stopped treatment.  However, when I went to see my podiatrist for a check up on Tuesday, I stubbed my toe while getting out of the car.  It started to bleed.  Doctor cleaned the wound and said there was no ingrown nail, and all I had to do was treat the toe with an antibiotic cream for now.  Why, oh, why can’t my right toe stay out of trouble?  Grrr.

Not to mention, my UTI.

11 Responses to “Why, oh, why?”

  1. DJan Says:

    I don’t eat any sort of cakes any more, Gigi, since I’ve found that if I stay away from the first bite, I can resist it completely. Now that I’ve got my weight under control, it’s not hard to want to stay that way! It’s been more than a year and I’ve maintained my weight loss. And more than a year since I’ve eaten any sugar. 🙂

  2. Christine Says:

    One of my sisters is prone to uti’s and all kinds of infections since childhood. To make it worse we are allergic to penicillin so she takes sulfer drugs.

  3. Jeanie Says:

    It sounds like you might need to wear a steel-toed boot for a while to take care of that toe. 🙂

  4. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    You reminded me i must call our podatrist about David’s toe. He has an ugly toenail from where he stubbed his toe, or I stepped on it many times. The toe finally healed and the nail grew back but it looks awful now. The doc told him to buy steel tipped shoes. Dianne

  5. Suzanne Says:

    Isn’t that the case. Every time I hurt myself, I tend to hit the wound again or if John has a wound, I always end up touching it by mistake.

  6. L...w Says:

    I never learned to be a good cook or baker because I told myself that would be a good way to not pick up more weight. Even box cakes would be too much work. Yet I don’t mind other domestic chores like cleaning the bathroom.

  7. L...w Says:

    ooops…I don’t mind house cleaning in fact the more detailed the cleaning the better….I just picked on the bathroom since most people don’t like to do that room.

  8. Denise Says:

    I’m so sorry about your toe but isn’t it always the way? Whenever I have hurt a finger, a toe or whatever, it seems that I can’t keep from knocking them. Frustrating and painful. Indulging in something you enjoy when trying to eat healthier is good for the soul. If you deny yourself everything I find, the easier it is to slip and fall into bad habits because of cravings.

  9. Linda Reeder Says:

    I like to bake and I love rich cakes and frosting, but I only make them for special occasions now. We just can’t have that kind of stuff around very often.

  10. DrumMajor Says:

    Gigi — You and the podiatrist could become wealthy by designing some steel-toed flip flops!

    I’ve noticed that my heavy, thick Teva flip flops (original model called “original Mush”) are just big enough on the perimeter, than most of the time when I stub my toe, I don’t hit the toe. The kids and I won’t wear any other brand! Their “Mush II” model is thinner and narrower and doesn’t work on our wider feet.

    Go to Costco or a cheap health foods store, and buy some cranberry extract capsules. One a day works like charm. Whether you do or not, drink more water.

    Cake sound wonderful. Hmmmm, but I need to make some jello.

    DrumMajor

  11. Musings Says:

    I used to get UTIs when I was younger. Then I learned that anytime I felt one coming around, I’d drink several glasses of cranberry juice. It worked for me. I never get it anymore.

    The only time I make desserts are for company. We tend to eat fruits more unless somebody gives us something. Waste not, want not.

Leave a Reply

