A new hobby? Why not!

musicians-1-A

Gone are the days when I used to play my violin.  This is a photo of me when I was 31 and dressed in an ethnic costume my mother sewed for me.  I was a member of Karadeniz, a Balkan folk music/dance troupe in Honolulu.  We performed at private parties as well as at shopping malls.  Fun times!

musicians-2-A 

David played the clarinet in Karadeniz.  He took me home after music rehearsals and taught me how to drive on weekends.  BTW, the clarinet is a very difficult instrument to play.  Ever tried making a sound with a reed in your mouth?

As a married couple, we used to attend the symphony, chamber music, and the opera without fail, year in year out.  Now, we rarely listen to music.

Our interests have changed.  He goes to the gym, hangs out in the hot tub, swims laps in the pool, and sits in the sauna every night.  I prefer to sit in front of the computer and blog.

But, I am ready for something new.  How about Twitter?  I understand that I will have to buy either an iPhone or an android and open a new phone account, but I am willing to spend part of my SS benefits on it. 

Twitter:  a new hobby!  Why not?

15 Responses to “A new hobby? Why not!”

  1. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Granddaughter Hannah says I need an upgrade to my phone. I discovered today I could track my Weight Watchers stuff on a IPAD (??) I want to try it but don’t know where to begin. Twitter looks interesting too. If you decide to do this keep us posted. I want to learn how to improve my communication skills.

    I think its interesting you knew David for so long. Did you know him then travel the world only to come home and discover the “boy next door?”

    Love the costume. I figure one of my ancestor’s wore something similar.
    Daughter Connie and her first husband played violins and were in “All County” here in Arlinton when he was in sixth grade and she was in fourth grade.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I met David after I returned to Hawaii for good. We married 3 years later. We are about to go to the Mobi store at the mall to check out their phones. David says they have the cheapest plan and the cheapest phone, too. Hope they have a cheap family plan. Will write a post about our experiences later.

  2. christine Says:

    good for you Gigi! My sister is very social and enjoys twitter! You looked so pretty in that costume!

  3. Grannymar Says:

    Twitter can become very addictive. I have had to cut back on my use, otherwise I would never get anything done.

  4. Kay's Musings Says:

    I can hardly keep up with the blog. I would never have time to add another social networking site. Your mother was really an excellent seamstress. I’m very impressed. The outfit and you were adorable.

  5. Linda Reeder Says:

    I do Facebook, but have no need for Twitter, or a smart phone, it seems.

  6. LInda Starr Says:

    I don’t like twitter too impersonal I think, blogs are much better. I may be getting a phone when we travel, must learn what a smart phone even is. Ha.

    How beautiful you look in your costume. Funny how habits change over time isn’t it. Oh I used to go to symphony, concerts and ballets when I lived in San Francisco years ago, maybe some day I’ll get to go again.

    We got a new used car and got free Sirius music for three months so have been listening to that on the radio, fun to hear various types of music and without advertisements so much more pleasant.

  7. DrumMajor Says:

    I have a dumb phone. With texting, that’s more than I want to handle. I am happy…DrumMajor

  8. L...w Says:

    I’m impressed with your achievements. You’re quite a worldly multicultural person.

  9. Karen Says:

    You can tweet from a computer- it doesn’t have to be done on a phone. Search for “Twitter” and you can easily sign up online. I don’t post very often, but enjoy reading what others post- mostly I follow people involved with news networks.

  10. Denise Says:

    Great photos Gigi! You and David are very talented. I belong to Twitter but have never used it on my phone, just through the laptop, and these days I have rarely gone to it but Gregg is a big fan and twitters every day.

  11. Suzanne Says:

    I have not used or gotten into Twitter yet. I am on Facebook and I think I am too addicted to that, so I am trying to avoid new ones. 🙂

  12. Jeanie Says:

    I have not been tempted by Twitter so far but I know people who are really addicted to it.
    I love the pic of you in your costume with your violin. (I had to scroll up to make sure I spelled violin right….I used to think I was a really good speller and now I often doubt myself.)

  13. Beatrice Says:

    Twitter is no fun, rather use Facebook which is much more intresting!
    ✿.✿.✿
    Beatrice

  14. The Laughing Housewife Says:

    You can use Twitter from a computer. No need to buy a new phone!

    You look stunning in that photo.

Leave a Reply

