Do you love pineapple, too?

David and I find every excuse to eat pineapple.  Not only do we eat it plain, but we also eat it with other combinations of food.

pizza pineapple canadian bacon 003-A

For example, we recently ordered a Hawaiian Pizza from Honolulu Pizza Company.  This one had toppings of pineapple and Canadian bacon.  The crust was gluten-free, too.  Delicious!

kua-pineapple-A

Have you tried the grilled pineapple burger at Kua Aina Sandwich Shop at Ward Center?  To die for!

SS shrimp-5-A

Finally, we love pineapple and shrimp stir-fry over hot, steamed rice!

How do YOU like your pineapple?

15 Responses to “Do you love pineapple, too?”

  1. Cathy Says:

    Fresh!

  2. Christine Says:

    Gosh your food looks delicious Gigi! We tend to just eat our pineapple fresh cut and plain.

  3. Suzanne Says:

    I like it raw. It is so good!

  4. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Pinepple is my least favorite fruit. Next in the least favorite fruits comes pears, then raspberries (seeds get in my bridgework). I eat strawberries in unsweetened preserves. Fresh strawberries are often obscene.

    I loved Dole’s experimental pineapple farm. Never realized there were so many of them…even red ones.

    I ate so much fresh pineapple when I lived in Hawaii, I developed mouth ulcers. Too acidic for piggy me. Cooked in an upside down cake my mom made it wasn’t too bad, but if I have a fruit compote, I always pick out the pineapple and give it to David.

    I am a big grapefruit fan. I have Florida grapefruit and oranges shipped here all winter (I belong to a ‘fruit club’). Next come blueberries, the best will come from New Jersey and Michigan. I am stuffing myself with them at present as this is the season.
    I also eat mangos…very good for us and I love them in smoothies. Dianne

  5. vagabonde Says:

    When growing up in France the only way my mother served pineapple was with a sprinkle of Kirsch on it. (Kirsch is a fruit brandy.) I never knew then that you can eat it in a variety of ways. When we went to Hawaii I was given a recipe for basting chicken that included pineapple and it is the best chicken basting recipe I have.

  6. L...w Says:

    I always hesitate trying dishes with pineapple cooked in it. Just doesn’t seem natural. Except sweet sour spareribs and baked ham. I guess I grew up seeing pineapple in these recipes. But we buy pineapple every week from Costco to eat fresh. I guess because it is pretty cheap.

    L…w

  7. palolo Says:

    Sweet sour pork with pineapple is my favorite dish over rice.

  8. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    Canned, “smashed” pineapple over a scoop of vanilla ice cream makes the most delicious homemade sundae.

  9. NRIGirl Says:

    I used to not like pineapple that much growing up in India. It was mostly sour and we would sprinkle sugar on the slices before eating it. We couldn’t remove the thorns fully without spending a lot of time cutting the skin off.

    Here in the US however we tried out the pineapple cutter and love the sweet fruits we often pick up from Costco.

    We make a fruit salad with it in mango pulp, grapes , apples, canned manderines and soaked almonds. Delicious!

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I haven’t eaten a mango in years. Our neighbor used to give us some from her tree, but it has since been chopped down, because it had grown too big. What a pity.

      • Henry Hank Chapin Says:

        “CRUSHED,” that’s the word I couldn’t come up with. 🙂 Occasionally, when I go to a local restaurant, I may be asked if I want rice or SMASHED potatoes with my meal..

  10. The Laughing Housewife Says:

    I like mine grilled, with bacon & egg.

  11. Linda Reeder Says:

    How do I like my pineapple? Not on pizza or hamburgers, that’s for sure! In fruit salad, I guess. Raw pineapple is very tasty, but I can’t eat very much of it. It’s to acidic.

  12. Musings Says:

    I worked at the Dole Pineapple Cannery for 3 summers and I had ENOUGH pineapple then. I really don’t need more. 🙂

Leave a Reply

