Gorgeous art from Bali

I am over the moon with happiness. My friend, Elsha, is downsizing her home and needed to sell some oil paintings she had acquired while living in Bali.  So, she emailed me photos and priced the art to sell ($100 each).

My darling husband agreed to drive over there to pick up the paintings.  However, two of them were almost 5 feet high and could not fit into his car.  He ended up with these two smaller paintings, which are still big at almost 4 feet wide.

Don’t you just love the bold colors and designs of these paintings?

Bali paintings 016-A

This one is an oil on canvas, painted by Emy (Balinese artist).  The two side paintings were done by my friend, Christine, a Canadian artist (discussed in a recent post).

Bali paintings 012-A

And this one is also an oil on canvas, painted by Djamil (Javanese artist).

Bali paintings 014-A

Here’s a shot of my Indonesian art corner.

I’ll have to find places in my home for the other art that were displaced by the new paintings.  This is like buying a new house with a different view of the outdoors.  When I get tired of the new art, I’ll simply put something else up instead.  Nothing wrong with that, is there? Changing art is less expensive than changing homes.

14 Responses to “Gorgeous art from Bali”

  1. Christine Says:

    Your new paintings look fabulous Gigi, my house looks like an art gallery, I tend to pick up pieces that I like over time.

  2. Suzanne Says:

    The artwork is beautiful. It is so colorful and gorgeous.

  3. Jeanie Says:

    Beautiful colors in those pieces……you will really enjoy them. It is always nice to have a change.

  4. Grannymar Says:

    Now you can dine ina ‘New’ room. Enjoy.

  5. L...w Says:

    The only artwork I have displayed are done by my son while in college and grade school. He said to throw it away but I kept it. His clay piece from grade school kept my mother in law company she said and she really treasured it but it was given back to us when she went to an assisted living home. I have since placed it at my mother’s altar and know she is happy to have it too. There is something about art that speaks to you.

    Those paintings are a treasure.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Your son’s artwork must be awesome, if you still keep them. I haven’t kept any of my kids’ stuff. Lol.

      • L...w Says:

        Thank you gigi for such a kind comment. I agree with others and love the bold colors in the painting as well. On the other hand, our son’s art tends to be soft and maybe why it soothed a lonesome soul.

  6. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    Those paintings really look good in your home! They also have changed the feeling and the look of things in a new, desirable way. They send out a warm message. You did well to acquire them.

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I love flowers so you know which one I like best. Love the big bold colors. Reminds me of some of Mage’s art. Dianne

  8. Liz Kauai Says:

    Hi gigi!!

  9. Musings Says:

    Oh my yes!!! Those are absolutely gorgeous! Lucky you!

Leave a Reply

