Mold and mildew

scenic hawaii 004-A

Hawaiian sunset.

We had a good day yesterday and accomplished a lot.  By comparison shopping at three stores, David saves $15-$20 per week on groceries.  If it were me, I wouldn’t be as savvy.  When I shop, I just buy what I need without checking the price, and I usually shop at one store only.  David buys most of our groceries at Target, because prices there are usually half that at Sack n Save.

Later, we drove to Pictures Plus at the Navy Exchange to have the mold and mildew removed from our David Warren monoprint.  Well, they don’t do that kind of work.  We ended up paying $382 for a new frame, new glass, two mats and labor.  More next weekend.  I’ll show you before and after views of the print.  I hope the finished product is as beautiful as I think it will be.  Hint: The inside mat is yellow and the outside mat is green.  The frame is koa veneer.  I had so much fun choosing these items.

We will never again hang art in our master bedroom due to rampant mold and mildew.  For some reason, the living room and family room don’t have that problem.  The art works in those rooms are fine.

Here’s an Eileen Seitz print that we transferred from the bedroom to the family room.  Pretty, isn’t it?

Eileen Seitz print 001-A

And here’s a Christian Lassen print that I absolutely adore:

Christian Lassen 002-A

COLOR!!!  I LOVE COLOR!!!

12 Responses to “Mold and mildew”

  1. christine Says:

    Lovely paintings Gigi sorry to hear about the mold. I love colour too! I think art makes us happy. Good on David for the comparison shopping, I’m more like you, but my girlfriend is like David. I usually just get whatever she gets if I’m with her.

  2. Suzanne Says:

    I especially like Eileen Seitz’s work. I really like green though and I love to see green trees, grass, shrubs, etc.

  3. Mage Bailey Says:

    TSP and bleach will always kill mold, but naptha, that toxic stuff, will really wipe it out on wood. I too have mold.

  4. L...w Says:

    Does David keep a price book to save on gas?….just wondering. I keep a small notebook of Costco and Sam’s Club prices in my purse, so I know which warehouse club has the cheaper price and also if supermarkets can beat both. Interesting that mainland Costco prices are very similar to our prices (not so sure about Sam’s). Someone on the internet keeps track of Costco prices on their blog, just found that site yesterday. But shopping takes a huge chunk of our time, husband drives me where I need to go and patiently waits.

    I’m thinking like the American Carpet One moisture test found, there must be a lot of moisture wicking up through your concrete floor. I wonder sealing the concrete floor (even with carpets) is a good solution.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Wow, you must be rolling in dough if you are members of both Costco and Sam’s Club!!! We just belong to Costco. As for sealing the floors, nah, too expensive and too much of a bother.

      • L...w Says:

        It’s beneficial to join both clubs just on the price difference of one item that is bought weekly, just as an example 2 loaves of bread. There are items at Sam’s not found at Costco, for us it is sesame oil and Smart Balance that is way cheaper than supermarket. Sam’s membership is only $35/year so just saving on a few items pays for the membership. Also, there are many hidden bargains at seemingly clearance prices, 32oz of mixed cheeses for $3.81 . Last week we bought some women’s and junior shirts, $1.58 and $2.06.

  5. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I love the Eileen Seitz print. Is she a local Hawaiian artist? Dianne

  6. Musings Says:

    Gracious! That is beautiful! I hate to admit it but we have quite a few artwork where the framing is more expensive than the art.

  7. wedding photographer los angeles ca Says:

    Appreciating the time and effort you put into your blog and in depth information you
    provide. It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same old rehashed
    information. Fantastic read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including
    your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  8. Jacksonville mold treatment Says:

    A half cup of vinegar per gallon of warm water is recommended.
    If you want to completely remove black mold from your home
    and make it safe for your family, there are some steps that you need to take.
    Brooklyn mold removal and mold inspections Brooklyn will also inform you that
    smaller mold abatement techniques can be performed
    by the home owner, thereby avoiding the extra expenditure involved.

  9. mold remediation San Jose Says:

    The spores that are not filtered are then disbursed outdoors so
    that 100% of the live and dead spores left cannot grow inside the home or business.
    Negative air filtration units and containment barriers
    must be utilized to prevent the spread of these spores.

    Mold can be cleanup up if done properly, but if done improperly you can make the damage worse.

Leave a Reply

