Where would your two homes be?

scenic Hawaii 001-A

Parent and child on a beach in Hawaii.

David has been using his new Samsung smart phone every day, getting a lot of use from it.  He calls me from the office on it to keep the regular office lines free, and he always reads my new blog post on it at the gym.

I, on the other hand, rarely use my smart phone.  For what?  I’ve got the land line phone as well as the desk top computer to communicate with.  So, did I waste money?  No, the smart phone will come in handy when I sit in the doctor’s waiting room or in an airport on the mainland.  Further, I can make emergency calls from my car.

Twitter has also fallen by the wayside.  I just can’t get enthusiastic about it.  In fact, it’s downright boring.  What I need to do is follow a person who is so thrilling and interesting that I can hardly wait for his or her next tweet.  David suggested NBA star Kobe Bryant, but I’m just not into Kobe.

Question:  If you could afford to have two homes, where would they be?  For me, one home would be in Honolulu, Hawaii (where I currently live), and the other home would be in New York City (where I lived for 5-1/2 years during the 1970s).

Let’s face it.  Despite the ideal climate and proximity to my family, Hawaii is rather provincial.  I would love to reside in Manhattan during the fall or spring and be able to attend concerts, featuring world-famous artists.  How I miss New York!  I still have fond memories of seeing the Russian cellist, Mstislav Rostropovich, perform live at Carnegie Hall.  Not to mention seeing Mikhail Barishnikov dance with the American Ballet after he defected from the Bolshoi.

Memories!  So, where would your two homes be?

18 Responses to “Where would your two homes be?”

  1. DrumMajor Says:

    Lahaina, Maui and maybe Molokai…any place I can see an unobstructed sunset and hear the ocean! Maybe the property next to your’s, so I can fix your garden view of that neighbor! Aloha, DrumMajor

  2. Christine Says:

    You saw Barishnikov? I was such a fan. I loved Nureyev. I’m happy right where I am until further notice. Try following Barack Obama. I don’t use twitter much myself. My sister got into it with members of a fan club.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I followed both Barack and Michelle Obama when I started Twitter, but canceled them later, because they themselves never tweeted. Their assistants did.

  3. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    If I had a second home, my first instinct is to say San Diego so as to be closer to my two grandsons and their parents. I will stay here in VA in all probability, mostly because my daughter lives 2 hours away. If David predeceases me, I will probably move closer to her, although i don’t want to as she lives in a farm community, and I like city-living.

    New York City is a good second choice. I love it too. I don’t get out to ballet the way I once did when I had season tickets. David doesn’t like ballet. We always ran into his ex0wife and her husband. Very upsetting to him. Now if I had a good friend who liked ballet, it would be nice.

    Lucky you getting to see B when he was still dancing. D~

  4. DJan Says:

    I wondered if you would like tweeting, which I’ve never tried. It just isn’t my thing. But I do use my iPhone every day and would miss it terribly if I didn’t have it. My two homes? One where I am right now, in Bellingham, and the other in Florida to escape the dreary wintertime. Hopefully near my sister. 🙂

  5. christine Says:

    A friend just sent this beautiful music to me, thought you’d like it

  6. Jeanie Says:

    I live in Colorado where a lot of people have a 2nd home. Right now I don’t really have a desire to have a home anywhere else, but if I did it would probably be in Puerto Vallarata, Mexico.

  7. Denise Says:

    Two other homes? Other than where I am now, which I am very happy with, minutes to the countryside in one direction and Washington DC 45 minutes in the other. But if I were to choose another two homes, one would be in Hawaii and the other would be in England. I am not a city girl so it would have to be away from the hustle and bustle,, but not too far so that we can enjoy what it has to offer. I am not a Twitter fan either. I love my smart phone for staying in touch (we gave up our land line long ago due to problems we had with it whenever it rained or we had a thunderstorm, and the phone company in all the years we complained and had them out about it, they could never ever find the problem and we kept getting shrugged shoulders. I was glad to get rid of it and stop wasting our money on the large costs they charged at the time. I also love my cell phone for the GPS feature. I never worry about getting lost any more. A few more things I could mention but this is turning into an epistle so I’ll quit now! Have a great day Gigi!

  8. Musings Says:

    Oh definitely my second home would be in Illinois where a lot of my friends are and especially my daughter, son-in-law and granddaughter.

  9. Suzanne Says:

    We do two places, as you know. Sometimes I wonder if somewhere closer to Va. such as the Caribbean would work but yet to find a place as great as Hawaii down there.

  10. Beatrice Says:

    I can understand that you find Twitter boring.
    Me, too!
    I gave up on it; never look into it anymore…
    I recommended Facebook to you. This is really fun
    with loads of photos and great friends.
    You should try it. I am Bea von Treungen there!
    It is faster then bloggng…
    I will keep up both!
    Where I want to live?
    Well, where I always lived: In Hamburg and in Norway.
    Sometimes for short periods in other places, but I don’t
    want to go back to Delhi…
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Beatrice

  11. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    I would choose Woodstock, New York and right where I am in good old Honolulu, Hawaii.

    My daughter lives in Woodstock and it’s close enough to the Big Apple.

  12. NRIGirl Says:

    My dream is to set up a proper home in India. When we visit we normally stay in our parental homes; but it is time we have our own place there too.

    So love the current home in New Jersey too!

  13. Ana Says:

    I moved around so much growing up that I would just want to feel tied to one piece of land… I guess SF will do it for me 😉

  14. L...w Says:

    I like the weather in Hawaii too much to consider moving, I want to travel part of the year when we retire to experience “living” in another state or country. I think when I visited my grandfather in Tokyo for a month right after high school, that left me with a lifelong preference for longer stays during our trips. It is just too sad for me to leave after just arriving where ever I travel.

  15. Linda Reeder Says:

    I like traveling more than staying in one place away from home. So if I could afford a second home, I would use the money instead to fly, rent cars and stay in hotels in lots of different places. Then I would come home to Seattle.

Leave a Reply

