The two guys in my life

scenic Hawaii 003-A

Hawaiian sunset.

This morning, David will have the first of three injections in his right knee and then will come home to rest for the rest of the day.  He will probably watch TV sports with his headphones and complain about being bored.  Gee, what a guy!  I stay home every day and just love my life.  No stress, hello!

Then, tomorrow, Rylan will spend the day with me.  He is almost toilet trained and is learning how to pee standing up.  Trouble is our toilets are meant for tall men like David, so I wonder if the toilet rim will be too high for Rylan.  Well, we shall soon see!

David and Rylan: the two guys in my life.  One is 64 and the other is 3.  What will they be like ten years from now?

I must remember to save at least one frozen pineapple bar for Rylan.  It contains chunks of real pineapple.  He’ll eat the right side of the bar, while I’ll munch on the left side.  Together, we’ll finish it off in no time.

Good news: Rylan has been admitted to Julia’s former preschool, and will start in August.  This is supposed to be a very good school, and we are very happy he got in.  I am sure he will adjust very well to a classroom environment.

And so it goes in Gigi’s world…

11 Responses to “The two guys in my life”

  1. Christine Says:

    I hope David’s injections work well. You have such a wonderful bond with your grandson. I love today’s sunset, It makes me want to paint it.

  2. denise Says:

    I wish David a restful day after his knee injections. I enjoy reading about your close relationship with your grandson. I hope to have one with my grandchildren when they arrive in our lives.

  3. Jeanie Says:

    Have fun days with both your guys…..it sounds like Rylan will be a lot easier to keep entertained. 🙂

  4. DrumMajor Says:

    Well, give David a popsicle, too! Hope his knee injections work. If he’s supposed to rest it, you’ll need to serve dinner at his recliner. Tell him you expect a tip for such service.
    David — It’s better to be a bit bored, than to be in constant and future pain! Better accept Gigi’s care, because I’d be mean and impatient!

    Well, Rylan could always do what my Dad did, just once, with each male grandson……peed on a tree they just planted….just make sure you can’t be seen!

    Have a good time! DrumMajor

  5. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    You probably already figured it out, but I got a Rubbermaid stool at the drug/grocery store. Works great for lifting little boys to pee.

    Sounds like you have much to be grateful for. Congrats on Ryan making a return to grandma’s house before he leaves for school. They grow up fast, enjoy them while you can.

  6. L...w Says:

    Husband built a low wooden stool for this purpose. You could just buy a stool but husband finds it easier to build whatever he needs from wood scraps. He’s recently built a cover w/handle for our garbage can to keep bugs out at night (got tired of twisting the bag with a clothes pin) and a fax cabinet to keep the machine dust free. David should develop an at home hobby so he could enjoy being in his home more 🙂

  7. Mage Bailey Says:

    Life moves on so very fast sometimes. Hugs.

  8. Suzanne Says:

    Good luck with the knee. I bet Rylan will love school.

  9. Kay's Musings Says:

    Oh my gosh! Rylan is already starting school? Wasn’t he just born? Time is sure flying. Poor David. I hope it all feels better soon.

  10. Gerard Hill Says:

    I am an old friend of David’s and the proud owner of a number of his works of art including Five Trees. I have it posted on my Facebook in Memory of him. Rest in Peace my friend!

    How is David’s son? I have a very well rafted wooden box his son made.

    Any idea how to reach him?

    Aloha!

    Gerard Paul Hill III

Leave a Reply

