Watching Rylan for a few days

I’ll be babysitting Rylan for a few days while his regular sitter, Mira, is on maternity leave.  I am so impressed that she managed to toilet train my grandson in such a short time.  If he were to stay with me again, I believe he would regress.  I simply baby him too much.  I have never put him on time out, have never spanked him, and usually let him have his way.  That’s not a good way to train kids, but I am a push over.  So, it is best that he continue to see his regular sitter.

Here are some pictures of Rylan that I took yesterday.

Rylan 002-A

He loved playing with the crocodile puppet.

Rylan 006-A

He read a “Little Mermaid” book.

Rylan 007-A

He watched “Sid, the Science Kid” on television.

Rylan 011-A

He played with flash cards.

Rylan 016-A

He drew a picture with a red crayon, his favorite color.

Rylan 017-A

And he ate an apple as well as a lot of other food his mother provided.  And, yes, we shared an ice cream bar.

This little boy will start swimming lessons this summer. He is such a wholesome, lovable kid!

13 Responses to “Watching Rylan for a few days”

  1. suranga date (@ugich) Says:

    Maybe this is a cultural thing. I dont know. But why must a mother send food with her kid when he is going to Grandma’s ? Just curious. Here a grandma would have been deeply upset at that ……

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Good question. I guess Maria wants to make sure Rylan gets to eat the kinds of food he should be eating. There have been times when she objects to his eating an ice cream bar here! Don’t know why. Lol.

  2. laurie Says:

    your Ryan and my Gracie are the same age, what a wonderful age, if Gracie was with me all the time I know she would back slide in the potty department, what beautiful paintings you have, the new frame and matting is beautiful, he was an amazing artist that died far to young, those pineapple icecream bars sound amazing,

  3. DJan Says:

    He is a fine looking young man, Gigi. And you are a proud grandmother, which comes through loud and clear! 🙂

  4. Jeanie Says:

    All the pics of Rylan’s busy day show that you had a busy day too. It is great that he gets to be back with you for a while.

  5. Linda Reeder Says:

    Yay! Grandma time! I bet he misses you just like you missed him.

  6. DrumMajor Says:

    Wow, Grandma Gigi — He got tall quickly!
    Take him on an outdoor adventure! Find some bugs or frogs?
    Have fun. Maybe a fruit or juice popsicle? DrumMajor

  7. L...w Says:

    He’s grown so much since the last photos…don’t kids grow so much every time you see them!! He does look like a very well behaved and intelligent boy.

  8. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Absolutely adorable. i can see why you want to baby him. Dianne

  9. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    Nature intended grandmas to be softies with their grandchildren. You’re absolutely doing the right thing. I always say my own mother was born to be a grandmother. She was universally beloved by all of them. She never cracked down on them.

    She had no problem cracking down on her own children. I must admit, however, she was the one we went to when in need of money. That way we were spared my father’s anguished groans.

    A side note here: I asked my own granddaughter’s boyfriend, whose parents are known to be extremely lax, if they ever cracked down on him. He said, “What does that mean– to ‘crack down’ on someone?”

  10. christine Says:

    Aww…he sure has fun at grandma’s lucky Rylan! He’s grown a lot.

  11. introvertedart Says:

    I would think you are doing your job well. Isn’t it what grandmas are supposed to do? 😉

  12. Musings Says:

    He is such a cutie and growing so quickly!

Leave a Reply

